Dynamics 365 Business Central is Microsoft's mid-market cloud ERP for finance teams that have outgrown small business accounting. Unlike NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Acumatica, which sell by quote, Microsoft publishes Business Central's list price: 80.00 US dollars per user per month for Essentials, paid yearly. It runs the general ledger, payables, receivables, inventory, projects and multi-company consolidation on the Microsoft stack, with a hosted MCP server that lets an AI agent read the ledger out of the box. The trade is the channel: Microsoft sells, implements and supports it through Cloud Solution Provider partners, so the license is the one number a buyer can see up front.
Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.
Microsoft publishes list prices on its own pricing page: Business Central Essentials at 80.00 US dollars per user per month and Premium at 110.00, both billed yearly, with a Team Members licence at 8.00, all read on September 6, 2026. Every other vendor in this category is quote only. The same page publishes the comparison table, which shows service order management and manufacturing as the only functional rows separating the two plans. What is not covered by the per user price is the agent layer: the page lists the Sales Order Agent and Payables Agent as requiring Copilot Credits sold separately.
Microsoft hosts a Business Central MCP server, and the 2026 release wave 1 plan records the enhanced MCP server as generally available on April 1, 2026 with wider data access following on June 12, 2026. The documentation is explicit that it is read only across all exposed API pages by default, and that create, modify, delete and bound actions exist only where an administrator configures API page objects; Claude and ChatGPT are named among supported clients. In product there are autonomous agents including the Payables Agent, which Microsoft states consumes Copilot Credits per interaction and requires a linked Azure subscription.
The API v2.0 reference documents 88 resources over OData v4, and the operational limits page publishes numbers an integrator can plan against: 600 requests per minute in production and 300 in sandbox, 20,000 entities per page, 100 operations per batch request, 200 webhook subscriptions and an eight minute operation timeout before a 408. Endpoints are always enabled for Business Central online and authenticate through Microsoft Entra ID against the calling user's permissions. The documented constraint is that API pages cannot be extended with extra fields; a custom API page has to be built instead.
The published ceilings are concrete: 300 companies in one environment, a 3 TB environment database, 20,000 entities returned per OData page and 10,000,000 rows in a report. Microsoft's compliance table lists Business Central as available in 241 countries and regions, 24 localised by Microsoft and 217 by partners, the widest country footprint in this category. The limit is architectural rather than volumetric. Past heavy manufacturing, global operations or a few hundred legal entities, Microsoft's own product line points to Dynamics 365 Finance at a published 210 dollars per user per month.
Account schedules became financial reports, which produce statements by dimension with Excel and Power BI output without leaving the system, and consolidation ships with its own reports including Consolidated Trial Balance and G/L Consolidation Eliminations for intercompany. The weakness is process enforcement rather than output. Microsoft's year end article states closing a year is not required, there is no packaged close checklist comparable to the NetSuite Period Close Checklist, and consolidated figures are only as current as the last consolidation run because consolidation is a batch transfer rather than a live view.
Consolidation runs as a periodic transfer of general ledger entries from business units into a separate consolidated company, and Microsoft documents that it can span different charts of accounts, currencies, fiscal years and even separate Business Central environments. Intercompany creates balancing journal lines in both companies once partner codes are assigned to a customer or vendor. The gaps a controller notices are the closing controls: Microsoft's own year end article states that closing a year is not required, revenue timing is handled by deferral templates and Subscription Billing rather than a dedicated recognition engine, and the change log is opt in per table with Microsoft advising against logging ledger entries.
Microsoft publishes no implementation timeline and sells through Cloud Solution Provider partners, so scope, sequence and price are set by the partner rather than the vendor. Essentials and Premium each include one production environment and three sandboxes, which funds a parallel build and a rehearsal migration without extra licence cost, and each additional production environment bought through the CSP partner adds three more sandboxes and 4 GB of tenant wide database capacity. Community accounts in r/Dynamics365 report quotes ranging from 86,000 to over 250,000 for a seven entity UK migration, currency not stated in the thread.
Microsoft's own support article states that the Business Central reselling partner provides technical support and raises a ticket with Microsoft only when the partner cannot resolve the problem. The same article notes the Report a Problem section is unavailable to trial users because they have no reselling partner. Support quality is therefore a function of which partner was signed rather than of the product. The Trustpilot and Capterra profiles both returned HTTP 403 to this session, so no review score or rating distribution was read and none is claimed here.
Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.
What a buyer is really getting is the only mid-market ERP in this category with a published per user list price. Essentials lists at 80.00 US dollars per user per month and Premium at 110.00, both paid yearly, with an 8.00 Team Members license for approvers and viewers, all read on Microsoft's pricing page on September 6, 2026. Underneath that price sits a competent multi-company ledger: up to 300 companies in one environment, consolidation across different charts of accounts, currencies and fiscal years, intercompany that writes balancing journal lines in both companies once partner codes are set, and financial reports built on dimensions. Microsoft also hosts the Model Context Protocol server itself, generally available since April 1, 2026 and read only until an administrator opens it, which is a better default for a ledger than most vendors offer.
The catch is that Microsoft sells almost none of the rest of it. Business Central goes to market through Cloud Solution Provider partners, and Microsoft's own support article states that the reselling partner provides technical support and raises a ticket with Microsoft only when the partner cannot resolve the problem. Implementation price, timeline, build quality and day to day service therefore come from the partner rather than the product: community accounts in r/Dynamics365 report quotes from 86,000 to over 250,000 for a seven entity UK migration, currency not stated in the thread. Two product gaps matter to a controller as well. Consolidation is a batch transfer into a separate consolidated company rather than a continuous view, so group numbers age between runs, and Microsoft's own year end article states that closing a fiscal year is not required, with no packaged close checklist to enforce the sequence.
Four things belong in writing before signing. First, the partner statement of work priced line by line: entity count, data migration, dimension design, integrations, training and the first three months after go live. Second, support: named contacts, hours, response targets and the escalation path to Microsoft, because the license does not supply them. Third, who owns the tenant and the environments, and what happens to any partner built extensions if the relationship ends. Fourth, whether any agent is in scope, because the Sales Order Agent and Payables Agent consume Copilot Credits per interaction against a linked Azure subscription with no published unit price; in late August 2026 r/Dynamics365 users reported the Payables Agent rejecting every invoice on an Azure OpenAI content filter, which Microsoft acknowledged as a known issue.
Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.
Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.
Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.
Finance management, sales and marketing, purchasing and payables, inventory, supply chain planning, project management and warehouse management, with unlimited users, multiple companies and multiple environments. Microsoft's plan card states Copilot is included. The Sales Order Agent and Payables Agent are shown on the same comparison table as requiring Copilot Credits sold separately.
Everything in Essentials plus service order management and manufacturing. Those two rows are the only functional difference between the plans on Microsoft's own published comparison table, so the 30 dollar step is a service and manufacturing decision rather than a finance one.
Limited access to read data, approve workflows, and create or update select information. This is the licence for budget holders and approvers, not for anyone who posts to the ledger or runs the close.
Autonomous agents including the Payables Agent consume Copilot Credits per interaction and require an Azure subscription linked to the environment. Microsoft states an upfront commitment saves up to 20 percent. Neither page publishes a credit unit price, so the agent run rate cannot be modelled from list price alone.
Dynamics 365 Finance is a separate product rather than a Business Central tier. It is where Microsoft points buyers whose scale, global operations or manufacturing outgrow Business Central, and it lists at roughly twice Business Central Premium.
Microsoft publishes 80 and 110 dollars per user per month but sells through Cloud Solution Provider partners and publishes no implementation figure. Community accounts in r/Dynamics365 report quotes from 86,000 to over 250,000 for a seven entity UK migration, currency not stated in the thread. Get scope, data migration, entity count and post go live support priced line by line before comparing partners.
Microsoft's documentation describes consolidation as transferring general ledger entries from business units into a consolidated company that has its own chart of accounts. It handles different charts, currencies, fiscal years, percentages and separate environments, and it can be tested before transfer, but group numbers are only as fresh as the last run. Peers that consolidate continuously do not have that lag.
Microsoft's pricing page lists the Sales Order Agent and Payables Agent as requiring Copilot Credits sold separately, and the Payables Agent article confirms it consumes credits per interaction and needs a linked Azure subscription. In late August 2026, r/Dynamics365 users reported the Payables Agent rejecting every invoice because of an Azure OpenAI content filter, which Microsoft acknowledged as a known issue (community reported).
Microsoft's support article states that the Business Central reselling partner provides technical support and raises a ticket with Microsoft only if it cannot resolve the problem, and that the Report a Problem section is unavailable to trial users who have no partner. Ask for named support contacts, hours, response targets and an escalation path in the partner agreement, because the product warranty does not supply them.
Change logging is switched on table by table and field by field, and Microsoft's own guidance is to avoid adding ledger entries and posted documents because tracking costs performance and database size, and to prefer Some Fields over All Fields. Posted entries carry their own register trail, so decide with the auditor which master data changes must be logged before go live rather than after the first audit request.
Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.
Business Central is one of the few systems in this category where the vendor hosts the Model Context Protocol server rather than leaving it to an integrator. Microsoft's 2026 release wave 1 plan records the enhanced MCP server as generally available on April 1, 2026, with wider data access following on June 12, 2026, and the overview article names Copilot Studio, GitHub Copilot, Claude and ChatGPT among the clients that can connect.
The default posture is conservative in the right direction. Microsoft's documentation states that the server gives read only access to all exposed Business Central API pages with no extra configuration, and that create, modify, delete and bound actions exist only where an administrator has added specific API page objects to a configuration. Setting that up needs at least the MCP ADMIN permission set.
Underneath sits the ordinary integration surface: the API v2.0 reference documents 88 resources over OData v4, endpoints are always enabled for Business Central online, and every call authenticates through Microsoft Entra ID against the calling user's permissions.
Separately from MCP, Microsoft ships autonomous agents inside the product, including the Payables Agent, which monitors a mailbox, extracts invoice data with Azure Document Intelligence and puts drafts in front of a human supervisor. Those agents consume Copilot Credits per interaction and require an Azure subscription linked to the environment, so they are a metered line rather than part of the per user price.
Who wins for whom: Consolidating several entities with the least manual work: Sage Intacct. A close enforced step by step by a checklist: NetSuite. Reporting by dimension into Excel and Power BI, with the close checklist kept outside it: Business Central.
Strong reports, no checklist. Financial reports by dimension with Excel and Power BI output, and built-in consolidation reports for intercompany eliminations.
Where it loses: There is no packaged close checklist, and consolidation is a batch run into a separate company rather than a live group view.
Source: AF score rationale: Reporting & close 74; Dynamics 365 Business Central watch-outs.
Watch: Month end close tips inside Business Central 12:31 · Independent walkthrough · Western Computer on YouTube
Continuous consolidation. Continuous consolidation with automatic intercompany entries removes most of the manual work in the close, on top of strong dimensional reporting.
Where it loses: Consolidated reports strip transaction descriptions and vendor names, and dimensions are painful to rework after go-live.
Source: AF score rationale: Reporting & close 84; Sage Intacct watch-outs.
Watch: Closing periods in Sage Intacct 8:17 · Independent walkthrough · Bangert, Inc. on YouTube
A checklist that enforces the close. The Period Close Checklist sequences and enforces close tasks, and saved searches cover most controller reporting without leaving the system.
Where it loses: Reviewers report slowness at month end as custom scripts and searches pile up, and implementation runs from three months to well past a year.
Source: AF score rationales: Reporting & close 80, Implementation 50.
Watch: Simplify Month-End Close in NetSuite 1:51 · Consultant walkthrough · Third-party consultant walkthrough
Who wins for whom: Reconciliations beside controller-grade reporting: Sage Intacct. Matching rules you can extend, with daily automated imports: NetSuite. A Microsoft shop that wants Copilot suggesting matches and G/L accounts: Business Central.
Rules plus a Copilot assist. Imports statement files or feeds, applies rule-based matching, and Copilot matches lump-sum payments to several invoices and suggests G/L accounts for the rest.
Where it loses: Copilot is still in preview and never connects to the bank itself, and Microsoft's own FAQ calls the built-in matching rules inflexible.
Source: Microsoft Learn, bank reconciliation assist with Copilot FAQ (May 2026); AF score rationale: API & automation 84.
No public demo of this task. Ask for a sandbox run into your own system before you sign.
Recs beside controller reporting. Bank feeds and reconciliation sit in the same system as the dimensional reporting finance teams choose it for.
Where it loses: Trial balances and open subledgers are where close credibility is won or lost, and API call limits constrain high-frequency integrations.
Source: AF score rationales: Reporting & close 84, API & automation 80; Sage Intacct watch-outs.
Watch: Sage Intacct bank feeds and reconciliation demo 13:34 · Partner demo · equationtech on YouTube
Rule-driven matching at scale. Match Bank Data applies three default matching rules plus any you write, and automated imports can run daily through a bank connectivity SuiteApp.
Where it loses: Each import tops out at 10,000 transactions and 500 accounts, and bank connectivity is a SuiteApp or partner setup rather than on by default.
Source: Oracle NetSuite help on bank data import and reconciliation rules; AF score rationale: API & automation 78.
Watch: NetSuite bank matching and reconciliation: system rules 6:21 · Consultant walkthrough · Fusion CPA on YouTube
Microsoft publishes the list price, which almost nothing else in this category does: Business Central Essentials at 80.00 US dollars per user per month, Premium at 110.00, and a Team Members licence at 8.00, all paid yearly and all read on Microsoft's pricing page on September 6, 2026.
A 100 person company rarely licenses 100 full users. The finance, purchasing, sales and operations people who post transactions take a full licence and everyone else takes Team Members, so a shape like 40 Essentials users and 60 Team Members lands at 3,680 dollars per month, or 44,160 dollars a year in software.
Two lines are not on that page. The first is the partner implementation, which is bought from a Cloud Solution Provider and never published; community accounts in r/Dynamics365 report quotes from 86,000 to over 250,000 for a seven entity UK migration, currency not stated in the thread. The second is Copilot Credits, which the Payables Agent and Sales Order Agent consume per interaction against a linked Azure subscription.
There are two agreements, not one. Business Central is sold through a Cloud Solution Provider partner, and the published prices are yearly commitments, so the subscription sits alongside a separate statement of work with the partner covering implementation and ongoing support. That second agreement is the switching cost.
Microsoft's own support article states that the reselling partner provides technical support and raises a ticket with Microsoft only when the partner cannot resolve the problem, so the partner relationship is also the service level. Settle in writing who owns the tenant and the environments, what happens to any partner built extensions if the relationship ends, and what notice period applies to the statement of work.
Getting the data out is the easier half. Business Central exposes 88 documented API v2.0 resources over OData v4, always enabled for the online product, with 600 requests per minute available in a production environment.
Microsoft publishes no timeline, and the partner sets the schedule. What Microsoft does include is useful: Essentials and Premium each come with one production environment and three sandboxes, so a parallel build and a rehearsal migration cost nothing extra in licence terms, and each additional production environment bought through the partner adds three more sandboxes and 4 GB of tenant wide database capacity.
The variable worth pricing carefully is entity count and chart design. Consolidation transfers general ledger entries from business units into a separate consolidated company that has its own chart of accounts, so business unit setup, dimension mapping and elimination accounts are design work rather than configuration, and global dimensions are difficult to change once posting has started.
Community accounts in r/Dynamics365 report quotes ranging from 86,000 to over 250,000 for a seven entity UK migration, currency not stated in the thread, which is a measure of how far partner scope varies on the same product.
It can read the ledger out of the box and write only where an administrator has allowed it. Microsoft hosts the Business Central MCP server itself, and the 2026 release wave 1 plan records the enhanced server as generally available on April 1, 2026, with wider data access following on June 12, 2026. The documentation names Copilot Studio, GitHub Copilot, Claude and ChatGPT among supported clients.
The default is read only across all exposed API pages, which is the right posture for a ledger: an agent can read accounts, general ledger entries, invoices, aged payables and receivables and the trial balance under the connected user's own permissions. Enabling create, modify, delete or bound actions such as posting a document means an administrator adding specific API page objects to a configuration, which needs at least the MCP ADMIN permission set.
Microsoft's in product agents are a separate thing. The Payables Agent monitors a mailbox, extracts invoice data with Azure Document Intelligence and puts drafts in front of a human supervisor, consuming Copilot Credits per interaction. In late August 2026, r/Dynamics365 users reported that agent rejecting every invoice because of an Azure OpenAI content filter, which Microsoft acknowledged as a known issue (community reported).
Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.