Mercury
Business Banking
Vetted by Audit Friendly
Updated 8 days ago · next refresh 14d

Mercury Review

Mercury is a financial technology company that holds business deposits at partner banks Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., and adds cards, bill pay, invoicing, accounting sync and a public API for US startups and small businesses.

The short version
Base plan is $0 a month; Plus is $35 and Pro is $350 on monthly billing, or $29.90 and $299 billed annually (published, 11 October 2026).|Deposits sit at Choice Financial Group and Column N.A.; Mercury Bank, N.A. has OCC conditional approval dated April 2026, with final approvals pending.|ACH, domestic wires, USD international wires and checks are $0; non-USD wires cost 1 percent and non-USD card spend up to 3 percent (published).|The beta MCP server lists 5 write tools; payment and transfer requests still need approval inside Mercury (docs, 11 October 2026).
Demo video
Watch the
Mercury
 demo
Score
78
Price
$0/mo; Plus $35/mo (published)
Time to live
10-minute application (vendor)
Best fit
US startups on QuickBooks or Xero
How it's priced
$0 base; paid plans, 1% FX fee, Treasury advisory fee
In market
2017
Audit Friendly Score
78
/ 100

Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.

The lowest-scoring dimension is the weak point. Read that one first.
AI / agent readiness
84
+

The docs describe a hosted MCP server in beta with 30 read tools and 5 write tools, where payment and transfer requests wait for approval in Mercury (docs.mercury.com, checked 11 October 2026). A REST API with scoped tokens, a sandbox, webhooks and an official CLI sit alongside it, and the in-app Command agent shipped on 16 June 2026 per the release notes. The beta label and a marketing page that still calls MCP read-only keep it short of a top mark.

Pricing transparency
83
+

The pricing page publishes all three plans, the payment fee table, the foreign exchange fees and a plan comparison, and the Treasury page dates its yield and fee figures (checked 11 October 2026). Marks come off for FAQ lines that lag the table, such as a reimbursement cap removed on 23 July 2026, and for API volume fees and custom plans that are not priced in public.

Banking & payments coverage
81
+

Checking, savings, debit and IO credit cards, bill pay, invoicing, ACH, wires, mailed checks, checkbooks and real-time payments are all on the pricing page (11 October 2026), with venture debt, working capital loans and a separate Treasury securities product. Gaps: no cash deposits, no non-USD balances, real-time payments only through Column N.A., and a Choice deposit agreement that describes the business deposit account as not interest-bearing.

Implementation
80
+

The site says the online application takes 10 minutes and lists the documents needed: formation documents, the IRS EIN letter and ID for the controller and each 25 percent owner (mercury.com FAQ, 11 October 2026). Recipients import by CSV, bills forward to a dedicated inbox, and the switch page describes guided migration with accounts run in parallel. The approval time is not stated on the homepage, FAQ or business banking page, and certain industries and founder countries are excluded.

Integrations & data flow
77
+

QuickBooks Online, Xero and NetSuite connect directly, with GL codes, classes, receipts and scheduled sync (accounting integrations page and release notes, 11 October 2026). NetSuite categorization and rules need the Pro plan, no Sage Intacct connector is listed, and invoices sync as bank feed entries without GL coding. Payroll wire drawdowns, HRIS sync, Slack approvals, webhooks and CSV export round it out.

Compliance depth
76
+

Mercury's FAQ lists admin, bookkeeper, custom and card-only access, and the release notes add custom roles (15 December 2025) and separation of duties on payment approvals (10 April 2026). MFA is enforced and the security page states SOC 2 Type II. The partner-bank disclosure sits on every page read on 11 October 2026 and links to the sweep bank lists. No SSO, SOC 1 report or exportable audit log is described on the pricing, security or FAQ pages, and the security page still names Evolve Bank & Trust in two answers.

Scalability
70
+

Users are unlimited per the FAQ, and the product adds venture debt, working capital loans and Treasury as a company grows. Limits bite early for some: US-formed entities only, dollar balances only, real-time payments only on Column N.A. accounts, and loans unavailable to businesses operating in California (mercury.com, 11 October 2026). Per-company payment limits and API rate limits are not published; the Choice deposit agreement lists only minimum limits.

Support
62
+

The pricing page lists email and in-dashboard support for every plan, with a dedicated relationship manager only on Pro or for accounts with $10 million or more. The pricing and contact pages list no phone line or response-time target. Trustpilot showed a 3.9 score from 2,855 reviews on 11 October 2026, with 67 percent five-star and 21 percent one-star; the complaints centre on slow replies and account restrictions (reported).

Expand all
Click any dimension to read the reasoning behind the number.
The verdict

Broad, low-fee banking software for US startups; deposits stay at partner banks while its charter is pending.

Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.

Mercury sells software on top of bank accounts held elsewhere. The base plan is $0 a month (published) and includes checking and savings, debit and credit cards, bill pay with approval rules, invoicing, enriched sync to QuickBooks Online and Xero and a bank feed for NetSuite, with 1099 filing at $5 a form. ACH, domestic wires, USD international wires and checks carry no Mercury fee (published, checked 11 October 2026). The vendor claims more than 300,000 customers. The API, command-line tool and beta MCP server are documented in public. Of the three peers compared on this page, Rho's API is read-only and Relay lists none.

The catch is structural. Mercury is still a technology company, and deposits sit at Choice Financial Group or Column N.A. The OCC gave conditional approval for Mercury Bank, N.A. in April 2026, and FDIC and Federal Reserve approvals were still pending on 11 October 2026, so account terms may change again if the charter completes. The product is US-only in practice: the company must be formed in the United States, balances are in dollars, and cash deposits are not supported. NetSuite categorization is locked to the Pro plan at $350 a month, no Sage Intacct connector is listed, and a named relationship manager needs Pro or a $10 million balance. Trustpilot reviews split sharply, with 21 percent one-star ratings that cite slow support and account restrictions (reported, checked 11 October 2026).

Before moving the operating account, confirm in writing which partner bank will hold it, because real-time payments are limited to accounts provided through Column N.A. Ask how account numbers, routing numbers and agreements would change if Mercury Bank, N.A. opens. Get the transaction limits that apply to the company, since the published deposit agreement lists only minimum limits. If NetSuite is the ledger, price Pro at $350 a month, or $299 on annual billing. If Treasury is in scope, read the Mercury Advisory brochure first: it is a securities account with an annual fee of 0.15 to 0.60 percent.

Best for
  • US-formed startups that want payables, invoicing, cards and accounting sync inside the operating account at $0 a month
  • Finance leads on QuickBooks Online or Xero who want coded transactions and matched receipts pushed to the ledger on a schedule
  • Teams that want scripts or AI agents to read balances and queue payments for human approval through a documented API or MCP server
Not for
  • Businesses that take in physical cash or need balances held in currencies other than US dollars
  • Companies formed outside the United States, money services businesses, cannabis, adult or internet gambling operators, and trusts
  • NetSuite shops that want categorized sync below the $350 a month Pro plan, and Sage Intacct shops, which have no listed connector
What it solves for finance

The jobs a finance team actually hires Mercury for

Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.

Bill pay

Pay vendor bills with approval rules from the operating account

Bills arrive by upload or a forwarding inbox and are read with OCR. Approval policies run by dollar amount, non-admins can approve, and separation of duties stops creators approving their own payments. Payment goes out by ACH, wire, check or real-time payment, and the bill syncs to the ledger with its GL code.

Payments

Send domestic and USD international payments without wire fees

ACH, domestic wires, USD international wires and checks carry no Mercury fee on any plan. Paying a vendor in local currency costs 1 percent of the converted amount across 40+ currencies. Intermediary banks can still deduct fees from USD international wires unless the $15 OUR-coded option is used.

Accounting sync

Push coded transactions and receipts to the ledger on a schedule

Transactions take GL codes and classes inside Mercury, receipts match to card spend, and a scheduled sync pushes reviewed items to the ledger. Enriched sync and automatic categorization are free for QuickBooks Online and Xero. NetSuite gets a bank feed on every plan and categorization only on Pro.

Agents

Let an AI agent prepare payments that a person approves

Through the beta MCP server an agent can read balances and transactions and create payment or internal transfer requests to existing recipients. Each request waits under Needs approval in Mercury, and the docs say the AI tool cannot approve it. Category and note edits apply at once, so review those scopes before granting them.

Invoicing

Invoice customers and collect by ACH, card or wire

Unlimited invoices are included on the base plan, with card payments processed by Stripe and wires or ACH transfers received free. Recurring invoices and ACH debit collection start on Plus at $35 a month. Invoices sync to the ledger as bank feed entries once paid, without GL coding.

Cards

Give a team cards with limits and receipt rules

Virtual and physical debit and credit cards can be issued with custom limits, merchant locks and receipt requirements. The IO credit card is issued by Patriot Bank, N.A., and its limit follows the company's balances, so it can fall after large withdrawals. Companies under a $15,000 balance repay daily.

Compare, reimagined

Watch the same task in each tool

Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.

More demos
Clips · agent-checked monthly
40:53
Webinar
Inside Look: How Gusto and Mercury Scale Teams Financially
A session with Gusto's co-founder and Mercury's CFO on financial planning for hiring and team growth. It is context on how Mercury's finance leadership thinks, more than a product demo. It runs 40:53, was posted on 23 July 2025 and had about 165 views. Vendor-hosted, with little on product limits. Transcript not read.
Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JI2VY65wiaQ
19:17
Workflow demo
Mercury Demo, AcuityCon 2024
A demo led by Mercury at an accounting firm's conference, published by the firm. It shows the product as pitched to accountants and bookkeepers. It runs 19:17, was posted on 25 November 2024 and had about 495 views. Acuity describes Mercury as a tech partner, and the demo predates Command, Books and the MCP server. Transcript not read.
Acuity on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MD7GUG7kbMQ
3:32
Feature
Mercury Bill Pay Explained: The Smart Way To Pay Business Bills
A review-site explainer of Mercury Bill Pay for vendor payments. It gives a payables-focused summary from outside the vendor. It runs 3:32, was posted on 5 June 2025 and had about 1,200 views. The description includes an affiliate link, and features added since mid-2025 are missing. Transcript not read.
Merchant Maverick on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEXzh3ljAdg
4:03
Feature
What Is Mercury IO & How Does It Work?
A review-site explainer of the IO credit card and how it works for a business. It gives a finance buyer a view of the card from outside the vendor's channels. It runs 4:03, was posted on 29 May 2025 and had about 9,600 views. Merchant Maverick earns affiliate revenue on sign-ups, and card terms have changed since mid-2025, including day-one access. Transcript not read.
Merchant Maverick on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VaIkXoOxMPc
3:39
Workflow demo
How to set up a Mercury credit card (step-by-step walkthrough)
A vendor walkthrough of the IO credit card: checking eligibility, how the limit is set and how to add spending controls for a team. Useful for seeing how the limit ties to balances. It runs 3:39, was posted on 5 March 2026 and had about 975 views. Vendor-made, and limit reductions after withdrawals are not the focus. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1TyM0QrWtnI
4:28
Workflow demo
How to automatically upload & match receipts in Mercury (step-by-step guide)
A vendor tutorial on receipt matching, including forwarding receipts from Gmail and uploading them by hand. It matters for close work because unmatched receipts are a common month-end drag. It runs 4:28, was posted on 5 March 2026 and had about 227 views. Vendor-made, with no match-rate figures. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXvW_gcTN1E
4:52
Workflow demo
How to send an invoice in Mercury (step-by-step tutorial)
A vendor tutorial on creating and sending an invoice: customers, line items, catalog, tax, deposit account, due dates and payment methods including Stripe for cards. It lets a controller check the receivables flow end to end. It runs 4:52, was posted on 5 March 2026 and had about 1,300 views. Vendor-made; ledger sync is not shown in depth. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7OarKulIuw
3:48
Feature
5 prompts to try in Mercury Command | From insight to action
A vendor walkthrough of five prompts for Command, the in-app agent that answers finance questions and takes actions inside Mercury. Buyers assessing AI claims can see what a request and its confirmation step look like. It runs 3:48, was posted on 16 June 2026 and had about 199 views. It is a vendor demo on prepared data. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDteZv96Ecc
17:31
Workflow demo
Getting started with Mercury (full set up guide)
Mercury's own setup guide covering funding, extra accounts, cards, auto transfer rules, payments, invoicing and connecting accounting software. It is the fullest walkthrough of the first weeks on the platform. It runs 17:31, was posted on 5 May 2026 and had about 1,400 views. Vendor-made, so limits and edge cases get little time. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTDMsHqNgH8
1:03
Real-user
How to open a U.S. business bank account as an international founder
A vendor short listing the documents international founders may need to open a US business account remotely. It is relevant to eligibility checks before a switch. It runs 1:03, was posted on 10 September 2026 and had about 411 views. Mercury made it to attract applicants, and it does not list the restricted countries. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/TI7Zkyloodg
1:04
Real-user
Mercury invoice payments and tracking explained
A vendor short on invoice numbers, dates, PO numbers and enabling card, ACH and wire payment methods. It helps a buyer judge whether Mercury can replace a standalone invoicing tool. It runs 1:04, was posted on 19 March 2026 and had about 297 views. Vendor-made; fees on card payments are not the focus. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/o_2WU9RVczg
0:50
Real-user
How to create an invoice in Mercury
A 50-second vendor short on the core invoice flow: new invoice, add a customer, choose a full invoice or a payment link. It shows a finance buyer how light the receivables tool is. Posted 19 March 2026 with about 216 views. It is vendor-made and skips accounting sync. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/zdKrcdUBMHM
1:39
Real-user
Set up auto transfers in Mercury (step-by-step)
A vendor short on auto transfer rules that keep accounts funded and route incoming money by balance or schedule. Controllers who split cash across accounts can see the rule builder. It runs 1:39, was posted on 6 May 2026 and had about 62 views. Vendor-made, with no coverage of failed or delayed transfers. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/bLwIMhP7Rn8
1:03
Real-user
How to create business debit cards (step-by-step)
A vendor short on creating virtual and physical cards and assigning them to team members. Useful for seeing where limits and card controls are set. It runs 1:03, was posted on 6 May 2026 and had about 56 views. It is made by Mercury and covers the happy path only. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/6EnwN4QABoA
0:39
Real-user
How Mercury Command helps founders make smarter hiring decisions
A 39-second vendor short where Command is asked whether the company can afford a contractor next month. It matters to a finance lead as an example of the cash questions the agent is meant to answer. Posted 16 June 2026 with about 85 views. It is a scripted vendor example with no detail on how the estimate is built. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/qQcpqbMJfGw
1:03
Real-user
Mercury Command: turn financial questions into action
A short from Mercury's own tutorial channel showing Command answering cash questions in plain English and acting on them in the account. Finance buyers get a quick look at how the in-app agent is positioned. It runs 1:03, was posted on 16 June 2026 and had about 60 views when checked. It is vendor marketing and shows no failure cases. Transcript not read.
Build with Mercury on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/yejyUzCOuWQ
Side by side

Compare on what matters

Dimension
Mercury
78
/100
This page
Relay
72
Pick a tool
Compliance depth
Admin, bookkeeper, custom and card-only roles; amount-based approvals with separation of duties; enforced MFA; SOC 2 Type II; partner banks named in the site footer.
Role-based access for team and advisors; pricing page lists multi-step bill approval rules and spend approval requests; the site names Thread Bank as its bank.
Site names Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., and Lead Bank for checking and cards; API tokens are scoped and read-only per its API page.
Scalability
Unlimited users; US-formed entities only; balances in US dollars; real-time payments only on Column N.A. accounts; a relationship manager needs Pro or $10M.
20 checking accounts per business on Starter and Grow, 50 on Scale; unlimited users; up to 50 debit cards per cardholder per account, per its pricing page.
Markets itself from startups to multi-entity enterprises with $0 per-user fees; the site says it serves US-incorporated businesses (checked 11 October 2026).
AI / agent readiness
Hosted beta MCP server with 30 read tools and 5 write tools; payment requests need approval in Mercury; a REST API, CLI and in-app Command agent are documented.
No public API or MCP server appears on its integrations page; the $90 Scale plan lists AI-powered automation and cash flow insights (checked 11 October 2026).
Read-only REST API plus an MCP connection to Claude for every customer; its API page says tokens cannot initiate payments or modify accounts (11 Oct 2026).
Support
Email and in-dashboard support on every plan; a relationship manager needs Pro at $350 a month or a $10M balance; Trustpilot shows 3.9 from 2,855 reviews (reported).
Help center lists live chat and phone on weekdays, 9am to 8pm ET; the Scale plan adds faster support by phone and email (relayfi.com, checked 11 October 2026).
Site advertises 24/7 live human support at no cost and hands-on implementation for new accounts (rho.co, checked 11 October 2026).
Implementation
Online application the site says takes 10 minutes; needs formation documents, EIN letter and ID for the controller and 25 percent owners; recipients import by CSV.
Help center says applying takes about 10 minutes and most reviews take 1 to 2 business days; accepts US corporations, LLCs, general partnerships and sole proprietors.
Site says accounts open in minutes for US-incorporated businesses with an EIN, and a Delaware incorporation can be paired with the account (11 October 2026).
Pricing transparency
Public plan table: $0, $35 and $350 a month, $0 ACH and wires, 1 percent on non-USD wires; some FAQ lines lag the table and API volume fees are unlisted.
Starter $0, Grow $30 and Scale $90 a month, discounted from $120 (published); a public per-plan fee table puts domestic wires at $5 to $8 (checked 11 October 2026).
Site lists $0 monthly fees, $0 domestic ACH, wires and checks, a 1 percent FX fee, a $15 SWIFT fee and a $30 international wire recall fee (fees as of 9 Oct 2026).
Banking & payments coverage
Checking, savings, debit and IO credit cards, bill pay, invoicing, ACH, wires, checks, real-time payments on Column accounts and loans; no cash deposits.
Checking, savings, Visa debit cards, an invitation-only credit card, bills, invoices, ACH, wires and checks; cash deposits at Allpoint+ ATMs and Green Dot per its FAQ.
Checking, savings, corporate cards, bill pay, invoicing, capital for brands and a separate Treasury securities product from RBB Treasury LLC (11 Oct 2026).
Integrations & data flow
Direct sync to QuickBooks Online, Xero and NetSuite; NetSuite categorization needs Pro; no Sage Intacct connector listed; API, webhooks and Slack approvals.
Syncs transactions to QuickBooks Online and Xero and connects Gusto, Plaid and Yodlee; NetSuite is absent from its integrations page (11 October 2026).
Lists QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Campfire and Puzzle for ledger sync, plus Gusto, BambooHR, Workday, Navan and SAP Concur (11 October 2026).
Pricing intelligence

What it actually costs

Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.

AF Score
78/100
Audit Friendly score for Mercury across eight dimensions, 11 October 2026.
Who holds deposits
Partner banks
Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., Members FDIC, hold Mercury business deposits per the site (checked 11 October 2026).
Monthly fee
$0
Base plan (published); Plus is $35 and Pro is $350 a month on monthly billing, checked 11 October 2026.
Mercury
$0/mo

Checking and savings, debit and credit cards, bill pay, unlimited invoices, reimbursements, bank feeds for QuickBooks Online, Xero and NetSuite, and enriched sync for QuickBooks Online and Xero. No minimum balance or overdraft fee (published, checked 11 October 2026).

Mercury Plus
$35/mo, or $29.90/mo billed annually

Adds recurring invoices, ACH debit collection on invoices at $1 a transaction, unlimited 1099 filings and 6 months of Xero.

Mercury Pro
$350/mo, or $299/mo billed annually

Adds a relationship manager, NetSuite categorizations and ACH debit collection on invoices at $0 a transaction.

Custom plan
Custom pricing

The pricing page says to get in touch with the team for custom pricing and plan options; no figures are published.

ACH, domestic wires, checks and real-time payments
$0

Same-day and next-day ACH, domestic wires, mailed checks, up to six checkbooks a year and real-time payments carry no Mercury fee on any plan. Real-time payments are available only on accounts provided through Column N.A.

USD international wires
$0, or $15 for OUR-coded wires

Standard SHA wires are $0 to the sender and intermediary banks may deduct fees from the recipient. The OUR-coded option costs a flat $15 so intermediary fees are charged back to Mercury.

Non-USD international wires
1% currency exchange fee

Applies to wires converted into one of the 40+ supported currencies. The FAQ invites companies exchanging more than $200,000 to ask about fees.

Non-USD card transactions
Up to 3% currency exchange fee

Applies to business debit cards and IO credit cards. The pricing table shows 3 percent; the business disclosures page says up to 3 percent.

IO credit card
$0 annual fee

The site says no interest or annual fees and 1.5 percent cashback on credit spend. Issued by Patriot Bank, N.A. Balances under $15,000 repay daily; 30-day terms start at a $15,000 balance.

Invoice card payments
Stripe fees, typically 2.9% + $0.30

Card payments on Mercury invoices are processed by Stripe, and the FAQ quotes the typical Stripe rate. ACH transfer, wire and check payments on invoices are free to receive.

1099 filing
$5/filing

Federal and state 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC filing on the base plan. Plus and Pro include unlimited filings.

Mercury Books
$35/mo, waived until Dec 31, 2026

Double-entry accounting ledger built into the account, launched 16 September 2026 per the release notes. The Books page says it is built to replace QuickBooks.

Audit Friendly pricing intel
Get your real
Mercury
 number
Tell us your setup and we'll line up a tailored quote and benchmark it against what similar companies pay. Free. Vendors pay us, never you.
Company profile
Solutions needed
Target go-live
Estimate and get my quote
Request received. We will line up your quote and benchmark it.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Implementation reality

What it actually takes to go live

Difficulty
Low
1
Need help implementing?
Vetted
Mercury
 partners
Find a partner →
Week 1 (AF estimate)
Apply, verify and fund the first account
Weeks 1 to 2 (AF estimate)
Set roles, approval rules, cards and the accounting connection
Weeks 2 to 6 (AF estimate)
Move payees, bill intake, payroll drawdowns and customer remittance details while the old bank runs in parallel
Weeks 6 to 8 (AF estimate)
Reconcile both banks through one close, then retire the old account
The application is online and the site says it takes about 10 minutes; the approval time is not stated on the public pages read on 11 October 2026. Recipients can be imported by CSV, bills can be forwarded to a dedicated inbox, and Mercury suggests running the old bank in parallel during the switch. The QuickBooks Online, Xero or NetSuite connection is self-serve.
Who you need on the project
A founder or controller with operating control, each owner at 25 percent or more for ID checks, the bookkeeper or accountant for the ledger connection, and Mercury's implementation team for larger switches.
Things to watch for
01
Disclosure
Who actually holds the money

The site states: "Mercury is a fintech company, not an FDIC-insured bank. Banking services provided through Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., Members FDIC." (https://mercury.com/, read 11 October 2026). The partner bank on a given account appears on its statements, and the two banks support different features. Mercury says it received OCC conditional approval in April 2026 to establish Mercury Bank, N.A., and that FDIC and Federal Reserve approvals are still pending. Until a final charter is issued, the company remains a technology company working through partner banks, and account terms may change if the bank opens.

01
Disclosure
Treasury is a securities product, separate from the bank account

The pricing page says: "Mercury Treasury is offered by Mercury Advisory, LLC, an SEC-registered investment adviser. Yield subject to investment risk." The Treasury disclosures add that "Treasury accounts are not FDIC insured, are not bank deposits" and may lose value (https://mercury.com/legal/disclosures/treasury, read 11 October 2026). Securities are held at Apex Clearing Corporation, and Mercury Advisory charges 0.15 to 0.60 percent a year on positions. Access needs $250,000 across Mercury accounts. Review it as an investment product with its own brochure.

01
Coverage
No cash deposits and no balances outside US dollars

The FAQ says cash deposits are not supported, at ATMs or otherwise, and adds that the product may suit cash-heavy businesses poorly (https://mercury.com/faq, read 11 October 2026). Accounts hold US dollars only. International wires can be sent in 40+ currencies at a 1 percent fee, but nothing can be held in them. A business that collects or holds foreign currency needs a second provider.

01
Integration
NetSuite depth sits on the $350 plan

The plan table shows bank feed import for QuickBooks Online, Xero and NetSuite on every plan. Incremental enrichment, automatic categorization and categorization rules cover only QuickBooks Online and Xero until Pro, at $350 a month or $299 on annual billing (https://mercury.com/pricing, read 11 October 2026). The FAQ on the same page is looser and ties enriched NetSuite automations to a paid plan starting at $35 a month, so get the plan confirmed in writing. No Sage Intacct connector is listed, and CSV export is the fallback for other ledgers. Treasury transactions are excluded from GL coding, and invoices sync without GL codes.

01
Coverage
Features depend on which partner bank holds the account

The release notes say real-time payments are available on accounts provided through Column, N.A. (25 August and 29 September 2026). Payroll wire drawdowns reached both banks only on 28 September 2026. Customers have also been moved between banks before: Mercury announced in March 2025 that it was leaving Evolve Bank & Trust, and American Banker reported that customers would migrate in cohorts (reported, 14 March 2025). Ask which bank the account will sit at before relying on a feature.

01
Support
Support runs through the dashboard, and reviews are split

The pricing page lists email and in-dashboard support for every plan and a dedicated relationship manager on Pro; a footnote extends that to business accounts with $10 million or more (read 11 October 2026). The pricing and contact pages list no phone number or response-time target. Trustpilot showed 3.9 from 2,855 reviews on 11 October 2026, with 21 percent one-star; its AI-generated review summary cites slow customer service responses, account restrictions and delayed wire transfers (reported). Trustpilot does not fact-check reviews.

How Claude & agents work with it
4
/ 5
Agent readiness

Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.

Hosted first-party MCP server in beta: 30 read tools and 5 write tools; payments are requests a human approves in Mercury.
Relay
Rho

Exists: Mercury runs a hosted MCP server at https://mcp.mercury.com/mcp and documents it at docs.mercury.com, where the section is labelled Beta (checked 11 October 2026). The release notes date the launch to 29 December 2025, with read-only access at that point. The docs list official integrations for ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor, Perplexity, Gemini Enterprise, Grok Bot, Microsoft 365 Copilot, Notion and Replit. A search of the public MCP registry on 11 October 2026 found no first-party Mercury entry, only an unofficial community server, so the first-party endpoint is found through Mercury's own docs.

Scope: The docs list 30 read tools covering accounts, balances, statements, transactions, recipients, cards, users, invoices, customers, Treasury positions and webhooks. Five write tools exist. requestSendMoney and requestTransferMoney create requests that must be approved in Mercury before money moves, and the docs say the AI tool cannot approve a request itself. createCategory, editCategory and updateTransaction apply immediately with no approval step. The MCP server cannot create recipients, issue cards or create invoices; those actions sit in the REST API. Mercury's API marketing page still described MCP access as read-only on 11 October 2026, while the docs updated that week describe the write tools.

Turnkey: Setup is per user through OAuth, and the docs say nothing needs configuring on Mercury's side. Write scopes are separate consents, and an existing read-only connection must be reauthorized to gain them. The docs say a Claude connector session lasts about 3 days. Mercury says it does not offer a self-hosted MCP server. Outside MCP, the REST API issues tokens in three tiers: read only, read and write, and custom scopes. A read and write token can initiate transactions without admin approval and requires an IP allowlist, so the approval gate depends on which token an admin issues.

In-product AI: Mercury Command, released on 16 June 2026 per the release notes, takes plain-language requests to send payments, issue cards, categorize transactions and create transfer rules. The vendor says Command acts only with explicit approval and respects existing permissions. Bill Pay reads invoices with OCR, receipts are matched to card transactions, and transactions are categorized automatically. No accuracy figures are published, so outcome claims remain the vendor's own.

Claude can
Through the beta MCP server, Claude can read balances, transactions, statements, recipients, cards and invoices, update transaction categories and notes, and create payment or internal transfer requests to existing recipients. Each money request waits under Needs approval in Mercury until an eligible human approver signs off.
Claude can't
Claude cannot approve a payment, move money alone, add a recipient, issue a card or send an invoice through MCP. Outside MCP, the docs say a read and write API token can initiate transactions without admin approval from an allowlisted IP address, so finance leads who want a person in the loop should keep agents on request-only scopes.
What's new · agent-updated every 2 weeks

Mercury, kept current

September 16, 2026
Feature
Mercury Books launches as a built-in accounting ledger

Mercury released double-entry accounting software inside the account. It is listed at $35 a month and waived until 31 December 2026.

May 20, 2026
Funding
$200 million Series D at a $5.2 billion valuation

PYMNTS reported that Mercury raised $200 million at a $5.2 billion valuation and said it had more than 300,000 customers. Mercury stayed independent and privately held.

April 27, 2026
News
OCC grants conditional approval for Mercury Bank, N.A.

Mercury announced conditional approval for a national bank charter, per Payments Dive on 29 April 2026. Final OCC authorization and FDIC and Federal Reserve approvals were still pending, and partner banks keep holding deposits.

December 29, 2025
Feature
Mercury MCP server launches with read-only access

Release notes announced the hosted MCP server for AI tools, with read-only access at launch. The docs read on 11 October 2026 label it Beta and describe 30 read tools and 5 write tools, with payments created as requests for approval.

December 19, 2025
News
Mercury applies for a national bank charter

Mercury said it applied to the OCC for a national bank charter and to the FDIC for deposit insurance, and named a proposed chief executive for Mercury Bank.

March 13, 2025
News
Mercury ends its Evolve Bank & Trust partnership

The Paypers reported on 13 March 2025 that Mercury would move customers from Evolve Bank & Trust to Column N.A. or Choice Financial Group. American Banker added that the migration would run in cohorts over a period of months (reported).

Questions buyers ask

Mercury FAQ

What does Mercury cost?
−

The base plan is $0 a month with no minimum balance (published, checked 11 October 2026). Mercury Plus is $35 a month and Mercury Pro is $350 a month on monthly billing, or $29.90 and $299 a month billed annually.

A typical small company on QuickBooks Online or Xero can run on the base plan. ACH, domestic wires, USD international wires, checks, bill pay and invoicing carry no Mercury fee. Expect to pay 1 percent on non-USD wires, up to 3 percent on non-USD card spend, Stripe fees on invoice card payments and $5 per 1099 filing.

A mid-size company on NetSuite should budget for Pro at $350 a month, because NetSuite categorization sits on that plan. Mercury Books is listed at $35 a month and is waived until 31 December 2026.

How do you close a Mercury account and get statements, payees and history out?
+

The Choice Financial Group deposit agreement, last updated 24 September 2026, says closure is requested by written notice to Mercury's help address and is honored within three business days plus the time needed to settle pending transactions. Remaining funds may be returned by check to the address on file or to a linked account.

Before closing, download statements from the Documents tab and export transactions by CSV; the FAQ confirms both. The public API also returns statement PDFs, transactions, recipients and invoices, so history can be pulled by script. Paid plans stay active until the end of the billing period, and the subscription addendum says unused time is not refunded.

Move recurring payments, payroll drawdowns and customer remittance details first, since account and routing numbers stay behind. Treasury positions are securities held at Apex Clearing Corporation, so ask how they are sold or transferred before the bank account closes. Mercury's help center has a closing guide; confirm the current steps with support.

Who is eligible for Mercury and how long does opening take?
+

Companies must be formed and registered in the United States or a US territory, have existing or planned US operations, and have a principal business address that is a real street address, which can be outside the US (mercury.com FAQ, checked 11 October 2026). Founders can live abroad, except in the countries on Mercury's restricted list.

Mercury says it accepts most US companies except money services businesses and those involved in adult entertainment, cannabis or internet gambling, and it cannot open accounts for trusts. Applicants need formation documents, the IRS EIN letter and government ID for a person with operating control and for each owner of 25 percent or more.

The site says the application takes 10 minutes. The homepage, FAQ and business banking page do not say how long approval takes, so ask before setting a cutover date.

Can Claude or another AI agent operate Mercury, and can it move money?
+

Yes, within limits. Mercury runs a hosted MCP server, in beta, that connects Claude, ChatGPT and other tools through OAuth (docs.mercury.com, checked 11 October 2026). An agent can read accounts, transactions, statements, recipients, cards and invoices.

An agent can ask for money to move but cannot move it alone through MCP. With the write scopes granted, it can create a payment request to an existing recipient or an internal transfer request. The docs say each request needs approval in Mercury, that the AI tool cannot approve it, and that a confirmation in chat does not count as approval.

Category and note changes apply immediately, with no approval step. Separately, an admin can issue a read and write API token that sends payments without approval from an allowlisted IP address. That is a control decision for the finance lead, and request-only scopes keep a person in the loop.

Ask AF

Ask us anything

Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.

Ask AF
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
What does it actually cost?
How long does implementation take?
Can Claude connect to it?
Question
Answer
Ready to get a real number?
Mercury publishes its fees, so the real number comes from pricing Plus or Pro against the features the team needs and asking sales whether a custom plan applies. Ask which partner bank will hold the account, which limits apply and what changes if Mercury Bank, N.A. opens. This review covers the software and the published terms. It is not advice on where to keep money.