
Tipalti is a global payables platform that runs accounts payable, supplier onboarding, tax-form collection and payouts to 200+ countries, built for mid-market finance teams and for marketplaces that pay thousands of payees.
Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.
Tipalti moves money itself: ACH, global ACH, SEPA, wire, check, PayPal and virtual cards across 200+ countries, holding and converting 25 currencies, under money transmitter licenses in the US and Canada and e-money licenses in the UK and EU (global payments, pricing, FAQ, MSB and FX pages). Pay Bills by Card earns cashback and Fund by Card lets US customers fund payment runs on a third-party card. Positive Pay, fee-splitting and Tipalti Detect add payment fraud controls; the card cashback rate is not published.
Tipalti's tax pages list W-9, five W-8 variants and Form 8233, TIN matching with 1,000+ rules, 1099 and 1042-S prep, Zenwork e-filing, DAC7 reporting and VAT ID collection in 60+ countries. Its compliance page adds 20+ role permissions for segregation of duties, OFAC and Do Not Pay screening before each payment, and header and line-level 2 and 3-way matching; the cloud page cites SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II (all checked 26 September 2026).
Tipalti pays in 200+ countries and territories, 120 currencies and 50+ methods, and the CEO's 18 March 2026 blog cites 6,500+ customers and $90B+ in annual payment volume. Multi-entity is built in, and a published case study runs AP across 90+ entities. The API caps a payment batch at 5,000 instructions and an invoice batch at 200 invoices, so very high-volume platforms split batches.
Tipalti lists native integrations for NetSuite and OneWorld, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Online, Xero, Business Central (AppSource certified), SAP Business One and S/4HANA, Oracle Fusion, Workday and Acumatica. The NetSuite and Sage pages say it syncs suppliers, POs, receipts, bills, payments and vendor credits at the GL level, and the Invoice Coding Agent fills custom fields such as department and location. API-based or custom integrations may cost extra (pricing FAQ).
Tipalti's support page offers phone and email daily from 6am to 6pm Pacific and live chat on weekdays until 2pm, and Tipalti cites an average first response under 2 hours and satisfaction of 98 percent or more (vendor-claimed). Capterra rates customer service 4.5 of 5 across 179 reviews (reported). Paid support tiers are not published, and some Capterra reviewers cite an older UI and uneven foreign-currency payment times.
Tipalti's FAQ says technical setup takes days but due diligence and account setup can take several weeks, because Tipalti onboards you as a licensed money transmitter. Standard implementations are included; multi-ERP, custom integration or advanced compliance work can require paid professional services (pricing page). A NetSuite partner reports 2 to 3 months for full global rollouts, and Tipalti's own Custom Ink case cites 136 days.
The pricing page publishes entry prices of $99 a month for Accounts Payable and $249 for Mass Payments, with UK, EU and Canadian equivalents, and confirms there are no per-user fees. Per-invoice and per-payment fees, the FX conversion fee, entity pricing and the card cashback rate are all quote only. The services agreement allows renewal increases up to the greater of 7 percent or CPI (last modified 4 August 2026).
In product, Tipalti lists eight AI agents and an AI Assistant; the Reporting Agent was still in beta on 6 October 2025, and outcome figures are vendor-claimed. Its only MCP server, at documentation.tipalti.com/mcp, is a developer-documentation server: five read-only tools search the API reference and docs, and a generic execute-request tool can relay an API call with the caller's own credentials to the production server named in its API spec (api-p.tipalti.com), which Audit Friendly has not run. It has no OAuth sign-in to a Tipalti account and no Tipalti-specific data tools (checked 27 September 2026). The OAuth REST API has read and write scopes for payees, invoice batches and payment batches but no approval endpoints. A separate key-based Procurement API (help center, updated 10 August 2026) reads purchase orders and purchase requests and updates a PO's ERP ID, status and receipts, but cannot create or approve POs. Any agent working on live data needs an admin-created app or a key from the implementation manager, plus a custom wrapper or the docs server's untested execute-request tool.
Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.
You are buying a payments company with an AP product on top. Tipalti holds UK and EU e-money licenses and money transmitter licenses in the US and, per its pricing page, Canada; it pays in 200+ countries and 120 currencies and wraps that in supplier onboarding, W-9 and W-8 collection, 1099 and 1042-S prep, 2 and 3-way matching and ERP sync for NetSuite, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Online, Xero and Business Central. Mass Payments is the same engine sold to platforms that pay creators, affiliates and sellers. Procurement, Expenses, cards and Statement treasury are add-ons. It is also a hiring skill: 50 live postings on the Audit Friendly job board named Tipalti on 22 September 2026.
The published price is only the entry point. Accounts Payable starts at $99 a month (published, checked 26 September 2026), but per-invoice and per-payment fees, the FX conversion fee and entity count are quoted, and Vendr puts the median contract at $15,384 a year across 41 purchases (reported). The standard services agreement lets fees rise at each renewal by up to the greater of 7 percent or CPI. On AI, Tipalti ships eight in-product agents and an assistant, but its only MCP server is a developer-documentation server with no sign-in to a Tipalti account. Its REST API has no approval endpoints, and a separate key-based Procurement API can read and update purchase orders but cannot create or approve them.
Before signing, get the per-payment fee table for ACH, wire, check, card and global methods, the FX conversion fee that goes in the order form, and a written list of which fees your suppliers will bear. Ask for a renewal cap below 7 percent, the implementation scope and any professional services fee, and a data-export plan to run before the term ends, because the agreement only lets you download transactional data during the term.
Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.
Suppliers onboard themselves, pick a payment method and currency, and Tipalti validates bank details against 26,000+ rules before the first payment. Payments go out by ACH, global ACH, wire, check, PayPal or card, and status syncs back to the ERP. In Audit Friendly's view, this is where Tipalti separates from domestic-first AP tools.
Platforms feed payment instructions from their own system or a performance marketing tool such as Everflow or CAKE, and payees use a branded portal or iFrame to onboard and track payouts. Self-billing generates invoices on the payee's behalf. The API accepts up to 5,000 payment instructions per batch.
A tax wizard picks the right form, and Tipalti applies 1,000+ rules including TIN matching, then prepares 1099 and 1042-S reports with withholding. Zenwork integration e-files 1099-MISC, 1099-NEC and 1042-S. DAC7 and UK platform reporting cover European marketplaces.
Each entity gets its own workflows, payment methods, branding and users, and payments sync to entity-specific sub-ledgers. Team Management, announced in Tipalti's 27 January 2026 product update, assigns roles across entities for AP and Mass Payments. The customer figures come from Tipalti's own case studies.
Pay Bills by Card lets US customers pay invoices with single-use virtual cards that still go through normal approvals, and Tipalti manages the card setup. Tipalti says hundreds of customers use it; the cashback rate is not published, so ask for it in writing.
Developers use OAuth 2.0 REST endpoints to create payees, send invoice and payment batches and read payment status, with webhooks and a separate sandbox. Payee iFrames drop onboarding and payment history into a platform's own site. Approvals still happen in the Tipalti Hub.
Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.
Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.
Unlimited users, a self-service supplier portal and core AP automation. Transaction pricing per invoice and per payment is extra; standard implementation is included.
Unlimited users, a branded payee portal and core payout automation for creators, affiliates, sellers and contractors. Transaction pricing per payment is extra.
Accounts Payable entry prices on the regional pricing pages; Mass Payments starts at 199 GBP, 249 EUR and 348 CAD a month.
Vary by payment method, destination and volume. Payers can choose to pass some payment fees to payees.
Added to the exchange rate on currency conversions under section 6.5 of the services agreement.
Intake forms, rules-based approvals in Slack or email, PO creation and goods received tracking for matching.
Receipt capture, card reconciliation for Mastercard, Visa, AmEx and Tipalti Card, and reimbursements to 200+ countries.
Cash visibility across banks and entities with 13-week forecasting, from the Statement acquisition of June 2025.
US customers can fund their Tipalti account with a third-party corporate card. Tipalti's help center lists a Tipalti Services Fee with a default rate starting at 2.9 percent per card funding transaction, with same-day funding on supported cards (help center, updated 22 September 2026).
Needed for multi-ERP setups, custom integrations or advanced compliance beyond standard implementation.
The pricing FAQ says Tipalti Accounts Payable includes the Tipalti Card, which earns cashback on invoice payments; Tipalti manages the virtual card setup.
Section 6.1 of the Tipalti Services Agreement (last modified 4 August 2026, checked 26 September 2026) says fees rise automatically at each renewal by up to the greater of 7 percent or CPI unless Tipalti names other pricing 30 days ahead. Promotional discounts renew at list, renewal subscription fees can never be lower than the prior term, and Tipalti may amend fees on 30 days notice. The term auto-renews for 12 months if the order form is silent, and notice to end it must reach legal@tipalti.com 30 days before the term ends. Negotiate a lower cap in the order form.
The pricing page lists transaction pricing per invoice and payment as additional, and its FAQ says cost depends on payments processed, legal entities, modules and payment methods and currencies (checked 26 September 2026). Section 6.5 of the services agreement adds a currency conversion fee from the order form on top of the exchange rate. Vendr's median contract of $15,384 a year across 41 purchases is a better budgeting anchor than the entry price (reported).
Tipalti's FAQ says the payer decides whether and how much the payer or payee pays per transaction, and its compliance page promotes fee-splitting to steer suppliers to cheaper methods. The payee agreement (updated 9 July 2026) lets Tipalti keep a conversion fee on currency conversions and raise payee fees each January by the greater of 5 percent or CPI, and payee bank fees fall on the payee. Decide the fee policy before you invite suppliers.
Section 6.1 of the services agreement authorizes Tipalti to charge fees to the customer's Tipalti Account when due and warns this may affect funds available for payments to payees. Treasury teams that fund payment runs to the dollar can see short-funded batches. Build a fee buffer into funding, or ask for fees to be invoiced separately.
Section 8.5 of the services agreement says the customer may download a copy of its transactional data during the term and may ask for reasonable help at its own expense; it promises nothing after termination. Supplier tax forms, payee bank details and audit trails live in Tipalti. Schedule a full export, including tax documents, before you send notice.
Tipalti's REST reference and OAuth scopes (checked 26 September 2026) cover payees, invoices, invoice and payment batches, payments, GL accounts, tax codes, payment terms and custom fields, with no approval endpoints. A separate key-based Procurement API, documented in Tipalti's help center (updated 10 August 2026), reads purchase orders and purchase requests and updates a PO's ERP ID, status and receipts, but cannot create or approve POs. Tipalti's only MCP server, at documentation.tipalti.com/mcp, searches the API reference and docs and has a generic execute-request tool that relays an API call with the caller's own credentials, untested by Audit Friendly; it has no OAuth sign-in to a Tipalti account and no Tipalti-specific data tools (checked 27 September 2026). The in-product agents work only inside the Tipalti Hub.
Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.
Inside the product, Tipalti AI Assistant is a chat tool that answers questions about invoices, purchase requests and POs and builds reports. Tipalti lists eight agents: Invoice Capture, PO Matching, Reporting, Bill Approvers, Purchase Request, Tax Form Scan, ERP Sync Resolution and Expense Receipt Scan, plus a Branded Experience Agent for payee portals. The Reporting Agent was described as in beta on 6 October 2025. Tipalti says features may use models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Amazon, Meta and Google, that customer data does not train third-party models, and that AI can be switched off. Claims such as 5x more invoices per employee are vendor-claimed.
Exists: partly. Tipalti runs a documentation MCP server at documentation.tipalti.com/mcp (server name Tipalti Developer Documentation, version 1.0), which Audit Friendly confirmed by calling it on 27 September 2026. It has six tools: list-endpoints, get-endpoint, search-endpoints, search and fetch read the API reference and docs, and execute-request, marked destructive, runs an API request built from a HAR object. There is no OAuth sign-in to a Tipalti account and no Tipalti-specific data tool, so it is not a first-party data MCP; The API spec behind it names Tipalti's production server (api-p.tipalti.com), the same setup as Routable's docs server (developers.routable.com/mcp); BILL's equivalent (developer.bill.com/mcp) points only at BILL's sandbox. The server is not listed in the official MCP registry, Tipalti's GitHub organization holds two unrelated repositories, and Pipedream's MCP catalog has no Tipalti server (all checked 26 September 2026). An unofficial, read-only command-line tool (agentculture/tipalti) says it is not affiliated with Tipalti; it is not an MCP server.
Scope of what an agent could reach: the REST API uses OAuth 2.0 with per-resource scopes. Read scopes cover invoices and invoice lines, payments, payees, payer entities, GL accounts, custom fields, tax codes and payment terms; write scopes cover creating and updating payees, creating invoice batches and payment batches, payment terms, tax codes and custom-field values. The REST API has no endpoints to approve bills or payments. A separate Procurement API, documented in Tipalti's help center (updated 10 August 2026) and keyed by a static token from the implementation manager, can list purchase orders and purchase requests and update a PO's ERP ID, rejection status and receipts, but cannot create or approve them. Webhooks, a sandbox, a legacy SOAP API and payee iFrames round out the developer surface, with a limit of 1,500 requests a minute on the REST API (checked 26 September 2026).
Turnkey: no. Claude can reach the docs server today, but before it can touch account data a Tipalti admin has to create an app, pick scopes and authorize it, and then either a developer wraps the API in a tool layer or the caller passes its own credentials through execute-request, a route Audit Friendly has not tested. Approvals stay in the Tipalti Hub, which keeps a human in the payment loop but also means an agent cannot finish the AP cycle on its own.
Who wins for whom: Payers collecting W-8 forms, 1042-S data or VAT IDs abroad: Tipalti. Small US teams that want an unalterable audit trail and 1099 e-filing on every plan: BILL. NetSuite teams paying in USD that want PO matching and unlimited approval levels: Routable.
Tax forms and screening built in. Tipalti captures W-9 and W-8 forms with TIN matching, prepares 1099 and 1042-S reports, screens payees against OFAC and Do Not Pay before each payment, and matches invoices 2 and 3-way at header and line level.
Where it loses: Per-invoice fees are quote only above the $99 monthly entry price, and the services agreement promises a data download only during the term, while supplier tax forms and audit trails live in Tipalti.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 90; Tipalti pricing tiers and watch-outs.
Watch: Accounts Payable AI: Automate Invoices with Tipalti AI 1:37 · Official short · Tipalti on YouTube (official)
Approvals, W-9 Agent, 1099 e-file. Every BILL plan gets approval workflows and the W-9 Agent, the audit trail is time-stamped and cannot be altered, 1099s e-file to the IRS and 50 states, and SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audits run annually.
Where it loses: Dual control is Enterprise only, ERP PO sync with 2 and 3-way matching sits on the quote-only Enterprise plan, and none of the pages reviewed mention e-invoicing mandates outside the US.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 80; BILL pricing tiers.
Watch: Accounts Payable and Bill Pay using Bill - Is it better than QBO!? 22:55 · Independent walkthrough · Financial Tech Lab by Clara CFO Group on YouTube
Approvals and NetSuite PO matching. Routable runs unlimited approval levels and rules, matches bill lines to NetSuite PO lines 2 and 3 way with tolerances and holds payment on discrepancies, and carries SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II reports.
Where it loses: PO matching covers only NetSuite POs in USD and is an add-on on Scale, while OFAC, TIN and bank ownership checks are add-ons below Enterprise and e-invoicing is absent.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 74; Routable pricing tiers and watch-outs.
Watch: The Most Flexible Bill Pay Platform for Mass Payouts 3:02 · Official demo · Routable on YouTube (official)
Who wins for whom: Payers with suppliers in 200+ countries who want 25 currencies held and converted in one place: Tipalti. Small US teams that want free virtual card payments and each domestic fee posted: BILL. Platforms paying drivers or contractors instantly over RTP and FedNow: Routable.
Licensed global payouts, 200+ countries. Tipalti moves money itself by ACH, global ACH, SEPA, wire, check, PayPal and cashback virtual cards to 200+ countries, holding and converting 25 currencies under US and Canadian money transmitter and UK and EU e-money licenses.
Where it loses: Per-payment and FX conversion fees are quote only, the card cashback rate is not published, and Tipalti can draw its fees from the account that funds payee payments.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 93; Tipalti watch-outs.
Watch: Whats New in Tipalti Accounts Payable | December 2025 1:46 · Official demo · Tipalti on YouTube (official)
Posted per-payment fee table. BILL publishes ACH at $0.59, check at $1.99, free virtual card, card-funded payments at 2.9 percent and instant payments at 1 percent, runs processing in-house with Positive Pay on checks, and pays vendors in 130+ countries.
Where it loses: The FX margin on free local-currency wires is not disclosed, no payer rebate on virtual card payments is published, and API payments need an SMS-verified session.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 88; BILL watch-outs.
Watch: How to Automate Domestic AP Payments with BILL V3 API 14:24 · Official demo · BILL on YouTube (official)
Instant, ACH, check and local rails. Routable pays over four ACH speeds, RTP and FedNow to 85 to 90 percent of US bank accounts, push to debit card, 11 check options, and local rails or SWIFT to 220+ countries.
Where it loses: There are no virtual cards or card rebates, per-payment fees are quote only, and the terms auto-enroll every client in an Instant Pay loan facility unless it opts out.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 84; Routable watch-outs.
Watch: Sending Payments via CSV Upload with Routable 0:55 · Official demo · Routable on YouTube (official)
Invoice endpoints now return paidAmount, unpaidAmount and links to related payments and vendor credits, and the payments list gained full date filters on scheduledDate.
US customers can pay invoices with single-use virtual cards inside normal approvals, and Team Management assigns roles across entities for AP and Mass Payments.
Mass Payments added 1099 and 1042-S e-filing through Zenwork, DAC7 and UK platform reporting, and a Branded Experience Agent, and said bank account validation, VoP and a UK card were coming.
Tipalti shipped the Tax Form Scan and ERP Sync Resolution agents, a Reporting Agent in beta, a redesigned side-by-side PO matching view and Fund by Card for US customers.
Tipalti announced $200 million in growth financing to fund AI work, said it passed $200 million ARR, and unveiled Reporting, Tax Form Scan, Purchase Request and Branded Experience agents.
Tipalti signed a deal on 16 June 2025 to buy Statement, adding cash visibility and forecasting across banks and entities; terms were not disclosed.
Tipalti publishes a floor: Accounts Payable from $99 a month and Mass Payments from $249 a month, with unlimited users (checked 26 September 2026). On top come per-invoice and per-payment fees, a currency conversion fee on FX payments, and fees that scale with legal entities and modules, none of them published.
Vendr's page puts the median contract at $15,384 a year across 41 purchases, from $2,476 to $27,024 (reported). Audit Friendly's estimate is that a multi-entity team paying internationally lands above that median, because Tipalti prices by payments, entities and modules. Get the full per-payment fee table before comparing it with BILL or Routable.
The Tipalti Services Agreement (last modified 4 August 2026) runs for the initial term in the order form and then renews automatically, for 12 months if the order form does not say otherwise. Either side can end it by written notice at least 30 days before the term ends, sent to legal@tipalti.com. Fees are non-refundable, and each renewal can carry an increase of up to the greater of 7 percent or CPI.
During the term you can download your transactional data from the product and ask Tipalti for reasonable help at your own cost. The agreement does not promise access after termination, so export bills, payments, supplier records and tax forms before you give notice.
Tipalti's FAQ says technical setup takes days, but due diligence and account setup can take several weeks, because Tipalti onboards each customer as a licensed money transmitter. Brand the supplier portal and emails, and set workflows and signatory rights, on top of that. Standard implementations are included; multi-ERP setups, custom integrations or advanced compliance can need paid professional services.
A NetSuite partner's comparison reports 2 to 3 months for full global rollouts (reported), and Tipalti's own Custom Ink case cites 136 days. Your AP lead, controller, ERP admin and treasury all need time in the project.
Not out of the box. Tipalti's only MCP server, at documentation.tipalti.com/mcp, is a developer-documentation server with no OAuth sign-in to a Tipalti account (checked 27 September 2026). Claude can use it to search the API reference and docs, and its generic execute-request tool can relay an API call with your own Tipalti credentials, a route Audit Friendly has not tested. Tipalti's eight AI agents and AI Assistant work only inside the Tipalti Hub. The public REST API uses OAuth 2.0 scopes, so a developer could wrap it for Claude to read invoices, payments and payees and to create payees, invoice batches and payment batches.
The REST API has no endpoints to approve bills or payments, so approvals stay with people in the Hub. A separate key-based Procurement API, documented in Tipalti's help center (updated 10 August 2026), can read purchase orders and purchase requests and update a PO's ERP ID, status and receipts, but cannot create or approve POs. An unofficial, read-only command-line tool exists on GitHub, but it is not affiliated with Tipalti and is not an MCP server.
Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.