CCH AnswerConnect is Wolters Kluwer's federal, state and international tax research library with AI answers that cite CCH content, sold to CPA firms, enrolled agents and corporate tax teams, and wired into CCH Axcess Tax.
Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.
Federal, state and local, and international coverage, the Code and regulations with CCH explanations, SmartCharts across all states, and Tax Prep Partner guides for the 1040, 1065 and 1120/1120S (archived tax research page, July 2026). Wolters Kluwer says CCH content dates to 1913 and is updated daily by credentialed experts (store page; official Short, August 2026). International and estate content cost extra.
It is a hosted library: buy from the store or start a 7-day free trial (vendor pages, July and August 2026), then sign in. Nothing to map or convert. The Axcess Tax link is built in: Wolters Kluwer showed one-click research from inside the return in a March 2020 video, and its December 2024 release describes a deeper Axcess Tax integration completed in October 2024.
By August 2026 the vendor's package list runs from CCH AnswerConnect Tax (federal and multistate, from $1,499) to a Tax & Accounting package with one concurrent license for accounting and audit content and a Global Tax package, both marked coming soon, plus a federal, state and international package at contact for pricing (vendor page captured 24 August 2026). Accounting Research Manager content now sits in the same library (vendor page captured April 2026). Seat counts and user limits for the Tax package are not published.
The Wolters Kluwer store publishes $1,499 for AnswerConnect Tax and $415 for U.S. Master Tax Guide Plus, checked 4 October 2026, and the vendor's package list captured 24 August 2026 shows AnswerConnect Tax starting at $1,499. Earlier 2026 pages listed Essentials at $890 and from $820, federal plus one state from $1,800 a year and Federal Pro from $5,350 a year; those packages no longer appear. Tax & Accounting and Global Tax packages are marked coming soon, the international package is contact for pricing, and the store does not state the term or seat count.
Support runs through support.cch.com by chat and web ticket (store terms, updated 7 May 2026), with product training and on-demand demos listed on the vendor page. Association members get a custom walk-through before a trial. No independent data on response times is published.
Answers cite CCH content and primary sources, which gives a reviewer a trail to check (May 2024 and December 2024 releases). The association page claims enterprise-grade security for uploaded client documents, but no SOC 2 or SOC 1 report for AnswerConnect was found on a public page, checked 4 October 2026. As a research tool it holds no e-file or calculation audit trail.
Research opens from CCH Axcess Tax, ProSystem fx Tax, ATX and TaxWise (vendor FAQ, captured August 2026; an April 2026 version also named CCH Axcess iQ), and from CCH iFirm in Canada (January 2025 release). Answers can become client memos and letters inside the tool. Nothing published connects it to UltraTax CS, Lacerte, ProConnect or an API, so outside the Wolters Kluwer stack it is copy and paste.
In-product AI is real and shipped: cited GenAI answers (May 2024), conversational chat (December 2024), document summarization (July 2025) and Document Analysis of uploads (2026 video). The external surface is closed: no public API, no MCP server in the registry or on GitHub, and answerconnect.cch.com robots.txt disallows GPTBot, ChatGPT-User and ClaudeBot, checked 4 October 2026.
Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.
You are buying the CCH editorial library: the Internal Revenue Code and regulations with CCH explanations, state SmartCharts, the U.S. Master Tax Guide and form-by-form Tax Prep Partner guides for the 1040, 1065 and 1120/1120S. Since May 2024 an AI assistant answers questions from that library with citations, and by March 2026 Document Analysis could answer questions about client documents you upload. For a firm already on CCH Axcess Tax, ProSystem fx Tax, ATX or TaxWise, the research opens from inside the return.
The catch is reach and price clarity. Outside the Wolters Kluwer stack there is no published link into UltraTax CS, Lacerte or ProConnect, no public API and no MCP server, and the app's robots.txt blocks AI crawlers including ClaudeBot. Wolters Kluwer retired its Essentials package (listed at $890 and later from $820 earlier in 2026) and by August 2026 named CCH AnswerConnect Tax, from $1,499 with no term or seat count shown, as its entry package; Tax & Accounting and Global Tax packages were marked coming soon, and international, estate and real estate content are add-ons priced by a consultant.
Before signing, get in writing: the package name and every content set included (federal, which states, international, accounting and audit), the number of named users, the term and the renewal cap, whether Document Analysis is included, how uploaded client files are stored and for how long, and a current SOC 2 Type 2 report.
Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.
CCH Axcess Tax, ProSystem fx Tax, ATX and TaxWise link to AnswerConnect content, per the vendor page captured April 2026. A preparer can jump from a form to the related explanation without searching. Firms on other prep software do not get this link.
SmartCharts build a side-by-side view of chosen states against hundreds of tax topics, with citations, per the vendor tax research page. The vendor's package list captured 24 August 2026 includes Smart charts and multistate content in CCH AnswerConnect Tax; the retired Essentials package was federal only.
The AI assistant answers natural-language questions from Wolters Kluwer content with links to the sources it used. Wolters Kluwer's December 2025 demos apply it to One Big Beautiful Bill Act provisions such as overtime pay and car loan interest. The vendor claims answers come only from its expert-vetted library.
Document Analysis lets a user upload returns, agreements, notices and other client files and ask questions about them against CCH research, per the vendor page captured April 2026 and a March 2026 official video. Client PII leaves the firm's systems, so check storage and retention terms first.
Tax Prep Partner collections give step-by-step form analysis, examples, compliance tips and checklists for the 1040, 1065 and 1120/1120S, per the vendor tax research page. They help newer staff more than senior reviewers.
Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.
Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.
Federal and multistate tax research with AI answers and Document Analysis tools, per the store page. Term and seat count not stated.
Digital U.S. Master Tax Guide with AI-generated answers, five years of archived editions and quick-reference tables.
Adds accounting and audit guidance and research to the Tax package, with one concurrent license for accounting and audit content; marked coming soon on the vendor's package list captured 24 August 2026.
Adds international and cross-border research, global regulatory guidance and expert treatises for multinational teams; marked coming soon on the vendor's package list captured 24 August 2026.
Essentials ($890 on the store in March 2026, from $820 in July 2026), Federal plus one state (from $1,800 a year) and Federal Pro (from $5,350 a year) are absent from the August 2026 package list and the store, checked 4 October 2026.
Adds international explanatory material; priced by a sales representative.
Specialty and international content sold as add-on packages through a Solutions Consultant, per the store FAQ.
State-by-state comparison charts come with CCH AnswerConnect Tax per the vendor's August 2026 package list; the standalone SmartCharts store product (from $1,220 in July 2026) is no longer sold, checked 4 October 2026.
The store lists AnswerConnect Tax at $1,499, checked 4 October 2026, and the vendor's package list captured 24 August 2026 shows it starting at $1,499. Earlier in 2026 the same vendor listed Essentials at $890 (store, March) and from $820 (tax research page, July), and Federal Pro from $5,350 a year (May). The store page states neither the term nor the number of users. Get the package name, seat count, term and renewal price on the order form, and ask what a firm on a retired package pays at renewal.
The store FAQ says international tax content and specialty areas such as real estate and estate planning come through expanded packages selected with a Wolters Kluwer Solutions Consultant, checked 4 October 2026. The federal, state and international package on the archived package page is contact for pricing. A cross-border practice should price the full package before comparing against peers.
The vendor FAQ (captured 24 August 2026) lists CCH Axcess Tax, ATX, TaxWise and CCH ProSystem fx as the software AnswerConnect integrates with; an April 2026 version also named CCH Axcess iQ. No published link into UltraTax CS, Lacerte, ProConnect or Drake was found, checked 4 October 2026. Firms on those products research in a separate browser tab.
The answerconnect.cch.com robots.txt blocks GPTBot, ChatGPT-User, ClaudeBot, anthropic-ai and CCBot, and the site declares a text and data mining reservation, checked 4 October 2026. No public API or MCP server was found. Any firm plan to put Claude or Copilot on top of its research library will not include AnswerConnect content unless Wolters Kluwer offers it.
Wolters Kluwer's association page says sensitive documents and PII stay protected in a controlled, professional environment, but no public SOC 2 Type 2 report or retention terms for AnswerConnect uploads were found, checked 4 October 2026. Before staff upload client returns or K-1s, get the SOC report, the retention period after cancellation and the terms on whether uploads train any model, in writing.
The vendor FAQ (captured April 2026) answers the mid-term upgrade question with contact a sales rep. Firms that expect to add states, international content or users ahead of tax season should negotiate add-on pricing at signing, before tax season starts.
Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.
Exists: No first-party MCP server was found. The official MCP registry returns nothing for AnswerConnect or Wolters Kluwer, a GitHub search for an AnswerConnect MCP server returns nothing (the few AnswerConnect repositories are unofficial prototypes), and no developer documentation or public API for AnswerConnect was found, checked 4 October 2026.
Scope: There is nothing for an outside agent to connect to. The answerconnect.cch.com robots.txt disallows GPTBot, ChatGPT-User, ClaudeBot, anthropic-ai and CCBot, and the site declares a text and data mining reservation (tdmrep.json), checked 4 October 2026.
Turnkey: Not applicable for outside agents. Wolters Kluwer's own route is Expert AI inside CCH Axcess, which it announced on 15 October 2025 as building on the AnswerConnect conversational experience and calls agentic-ready; that is a vendor claim inside its own platform.
Inside the product, the AI assistant answers natural-language questions from Wolters Kluwer content with links to sources (launched May 2024), supports follow-up chat (December 2024), summarizes secondary sources (July 2025) and, through Document Analysis, answers questions about uploaded returns, agreements and notices (2026). Wolters Kluwer claims the answers are grounded only in its expert-vetted library; no independent accuracy test was found.
The vendor page captured on this date says AnswerConnect now holds all content previously in CCH Accounting Research Manager. The exact move date is not stated.
Wolters Kluwer published a walkthrough of Document Analysis, which answers questions about uploaded client files using AnswerConnect content.
Wolters Kluwer expanded its CPA Canada collaboration so members can access a curated set of AnswerConnect Canadian tax research on a subscription basis.
Wolters Kluwer launched Expert AI in CCH Axcess, saying its first module builds on the conversational experience introduced in AnswerConnect earlier in 2025.
Wolters Kluwer added one-click AI summaries of secondary sources with follow-up questions, plus a directory of SmartCharts, checklists, calculators and client letters.
The Wolters Kluwer store lists CCH AnswerConnect Tax, with federal and multistate content, at $1,499, and the U.S. Master Tax Guide Plus at $415, checked 4 October 2026. The store page does not say whether the price is per user or per year.
Vendor pages earlier in 2026 showed Essentials at $890 and later from $820, federal plus one state from $1,800 a year and Federal Pro (all states) from $5,350 a year; the vendor's package list captured 24 August 2026 no longer shows those packages and marks Tax & Accounting and Global Tax packages as coming soon. International content is quoted by a sales rep. A firm with several researchers should ask for a seat-based quote, since the store page does not say how many users $1,499 covers.
The store and package pages do not publish the term length, auto-renewal or renewal caps; the package page labels prices per year. Upgrades during a term go through a sales rep, per the vendor FAQ.
AnswerConnect is a licensed library, so there are no firm returns or tax data inside it to migrate. What a firm may want to keep are saved research, memos and client letters generated in the tool; export these to the firm's document system as you go, and ask how long uploaded Document Analysis files are retained after cancellation.
There is no data conversion. A firm buys from the store or starts the 7-day free trial, then users sign in; an Audit Friendly estimate is under a week to be live. Firms on CCH Axcess Tax get the in-form links without a separate project.
Wolters Kluwer offers product training and on-demand demos, and association members get a custom walk-through before a 7 or 14 day trial, per the association pages. The partner or tax manager's job is choosing the package and setting a review rule for AI answers.
Not directly. No public API or MCP server was found, and the answerconnect.cch.com robots.txt disallows ClaudeBot, GPTBot and ChatGPT-User, checked 4 October 2026.
The AI that exists runs inside Wolters Kluwer's screens: the AnswerConnect assistant and, inside CCH Axcess, Expert AI, which Wolters Kluwer announced in October 2025 and describes as agentic-ready. A user can paste an AnswerConnect answer into Claude to draft a client email, but Claude cannot fetch or verify AnswerConnect content on its own.
Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.