Software/Business Banking/
J.P. Morgan Startup Banking
J.P. Morgan Startup Banking
Business Banking
Vetted by Audit Friendly
Updated 8 days ago · next refresh 14d

J.P. Morgan Startup Banking Review

J.P. Morgan Startup Banking is the startup program of a chartered bank, JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A.: operating accounts, Cashflow360 bill pay, cards, wires and a named banker for venture-backed companies, with no fees for up to three years on included services (published).

The short version
Deposits sit at JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., a national bank, with no partner bank layer (checked 11 October 2026).|The site says no fees for up to three years on included services; standard fees follow and are not published.|Connect documents Dual Control, 3 access levels, per-user daily limits and one year of user activity history.|The only first-party MCP server searches developer docs; the ERP link to Connect is read-only per a March 2026 guide.
Demo video
Watch the
J.P. Morgan Startup Banking
 demo
Score
72
Price
$0 for up to 3 years (published)
Time to live
Not published; banker-led
Best fit
Funded startups that want a banker
How it's priced
$0 up to 3 years on included services; rest by quote
In market
Audit Friendly Score
72
/ 100

Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.

The lowest-scoring dimension is the weak point. Read that one first.
Banking & payments coverage
90
+

The startup, Connect and guide pages (checked 11 October 2026) list checking and savings, standard and same-day ACH, real-time payments, domestic and international wires, check deposit, Positive Pay and ACH debit block, Cashflow360 bill pay and invoicing, virtual cards and a commercial card range, loans and merchant services. International wires go out in nearly 70 currencies. Cashflow360 pays only vendors with a U.S. address and bank account, and liquidity products such as sweeps sit on a separate J.P. Morgan Payments page.

Scalability
88
+

The startup page says more than 550 bankers and specialists serve innovation clients in 50+ countries, with wires in nearly 70 currencies and a path from pre-seed to IPO with lending and capital markets (read 11 October 2026). One Connect profile lists every company and account, and ACH file upload takes up to 2,000 payment instructions per batch per the February 2026 guide. Limits are published: same-day ACH at $100,000 per transaction, a figure the guide dates "as of March 18, 2022", and real-time payments at $25,000 per transaction in Connect. What strains first is the self-serve side: opening an entity or adding a service runs through a banker.

Compliance depth
84
+

The Access & Security Manager guide (last updated September 2026) documents three access levels per account, per-user daily limits, Dual Control on transactions and on admin actions, up to three proxy admins, RSA authenticators, IP restrictions and one year of user activity history. Disclosure of who holds the money is plain: a chartered bank with a Member FDIC line on the Connect and Cashflow360 pages (read 11 October 2026). SOC reports and single sign-on are not mentioned on the vendor's public Connect pages, and the startup page itself carries no disclosure line.

Support
80
+

The early-stage page names Startup Banking bankers by region, and the startup page counts 550+ bankers globally (read 11 October 2026). The Connect Service Center runs Monday to Friday, 8 AM to 9 PM ET, with online support requests that show a tracked status. BILL provides Cashflow360 technical support by chat, email and call request. No response-time commitment is published.

Integrations & data flow
70
+

Cashflow360 syncs two-way with QuickBooks (Pro, Premier, Online), Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, covering vendors, customers, bills, payments and chart of accounts (Cashflow360 page, read 11 October 2026). Bank balances, transactions and statements flow one way to ERPs through Third-Party Connectivity, which the guide says links to hundreds of applications without naming them. Payment initiation from an ERP is excluded, and the API route needs a separate onboarding.

Implementation
58
+

Every Get started button on the startup pages opens a contact form, so opening starts with a banker (read 11 October 2026). Eligibility rules, required documents and opening time are not published for the program. After opening, an admin activates payment services, adds users and sets Dual Control; the Cashflow360 guide says accounting sync is set up in an onboarding appointment. Leaving is manual: Connect exports transactions as CSV, PDF or Excel, and the closing steps are not published.

AI / agent readiness
48
+

J.P. Morgan Payments publishes a first-party MCP server on GitHub, and its three tools only read and search developer documentation (developer portal, read 11 October 2026). The Third-Party Connectivity guide (March 2026) says the ERP link does not permit initiating transactions. A read-only FDX data API and a Global Payments API exist, with a sales-led onboarding the portal sizes in weeks. No AI feature is named on the startup or Connect pages.

Pricing transparency
40
+

The one published term is no fees for up to three years on included services, with a footnote that sends the reader to a banker for the included services and volumes (startup page, read 11 October 2026). Standard fees, wire fees, Cashflow360 fees, card pricing and deposit rates are not published. The FX wires page says the exchange rate includes a spread and gives no figure. The sister Chase for Business brand does publish monthly fees, which shows the bank can.

Expand all
Click any dimension to read the reasoning behind the number.
The verdict

A full commercial bank for venture-backed startups, with opaque pricing and no self-serve signup.

Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.

The purchase is a banking relationship with JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., run through the Innovation Economy team of J.P. Morgan Commercial Banking. A startup gets operating accounts, Cashflow360 for bill pay and invoicing (built with BILL), commercial and virtual cards, ACH, real-time payments and wires in nearly 70 currencies, plus a named banker. The startup page does not name its online portal. Cashflow360, which that page sells, is reached from Connect, the bank's commercial banking portal, so this review reads Connect's public guides as the control set (Audit Friendly inference, checked 11 October 2026). The bank holds the deposits itself. Those guides document three access levels per account, per-user daily limits, Dual Control on transactions and on admin changes, and one year of user activity history.

The catch is how little is published. The startup page says no fees for up to three years on included services, then standard fees, and neither the included list nor the standard schedule is public. There is no online application: every Get started button opens a contact form. The ERP link to Connect is read-only, and the only first-party MCP server searches developer documentation. Teams that want to sign up tonight, read a fee schedule and wire up an API on their own will find Mercury or Grasshopper Bank faster.

Before signing, get these in writing: the list of included services and volumes behind the three-year waiver, the standard fee schedule that applies afterward, what continued program eligibility means, wire and foreign exchange pricing, and Cashflow360 fees. Ask which accounts are deposits at JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. and which liquidity products are sweeps or securities from an affiliate. If an API matters, ask whether the J.P. Morgan Payments APIs are open to a Startup Banking account and how long onboarding takes.

Best for
  • Venture-backed startups that want one bank from seed through lending, foreign exchange and an eventual IPO
  • Finance teams that need a second approver on every payment and admin change, with per-user daily limits
  • Companies paying overseas suppliers by wire in local currency, with a named banker to call
Not for
  • Founders who want to open an account online today without talking to a banker
  • Teams that need a published fee schedule before choosing a bank
  • Teams that want an ERP or an AI agent to initiate payments through a self-serve API
What it solves for finance

The jobs a finance team actually hires J.P. Morgan Startup Banking for

Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.

Bill pay

Run payables with approvals inside the bank portal

Cashflow360 routes bills to named approvers in order, then pays by ACH, mailed check or virtual card. Approvers can approve or deny and cannot pay bills or edit vendors. The time saving is a vendor claim from its own survey; vendors need a U.S. address and bank account.

Controls

Put a second approver on every payment

With Dual Control for transactions active, every payment needs approval by another user, except transfers between J.P. Morgan accounts, loan advances and loan payments. Only the primary admin can switch it on. A separate Dual Control setting covers admin changes, which must be approved within three days.

FX wires

Pay overseas suppliers in local currency

Connect quotes a live exchange rate before sending and supports one-time, recurring and future-dated wires. International wires typically arrive in 1 to 5 business days per the February 2026 guide. The rate includes a spread that is not published.

Bank connectivity

Feed bank data to the ERP

An entitled user links accounts from inside the ERP or app, and balances, transactions and statements flow in. Users review linked apps and stop sharing in the Security and privacy center. The link is one way: it cannot initiate payments or pull ERP data into Connect.

Payments

Pay a contractor the same day

Connect offers standard ACH, same-day ACH and real-time payments from one screen, with cutoffs of 8 p.m. ET, 2 p.m. ET and midnight ET in that order. The guide caps same-day ACH at $100,000 per transaction, a figure it dates "as of March 18, 2022", so confirm the current limit. Real-time payments cannot be reversed.

Lifecycle

Stay with one bank from seed to IPO

The startup page describes operating accounts and cards at the early stage, debt financing and private capital raising at the growth stage, and global accounts, FX and advisory at the late stage. That breadth is the reason to accept the banker-led model. Each added service is a new conversation and a new fee line.

Compare, reimagined

Watch the same task in each tool

Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.

More demos
Clips · agent-checked monthly
39:43
Webinar
Sara Dauber, Vice President, JPMorgan Startup Banking, on Supporting Life Science Founders from...
A BioTalk episode with a Startup Banking vice president on how early-stage life science companies should think about banking. It is recent and specific to one sector the program serves. Runs 39:43, posted 15 June 2026, about 40 views, produced by the nonprofit BioHealth Innovation with a vendor guest. It is a conversation and shows no screens. Transcript not read.
BioHealth Innovation, Inc. on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zy_iyW_MvNk
48:31
Webinar
Build, Scale, Exit: JP Morgan's Guide to Startup Success Part 1/2
A session hosted by the incubator University Lab Partners in which J.P. Morgan presents its innovation economy offering and how founders should choose partners. It is the fullest public walk through the pitch a banker will give. Runs 48:31, posted 23 September 2025, about 190 views; the host is an incubator and the speakers are from the vendor. Expect a sales presentation and no fee detail. Transcript not read.
University Lab Partners on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2r-Qfl2USFA
32:38
Webinar
JP Morgan's head of startup banking says 'Founder Mode' won't get you a unicorn | Equity Podcast
TechCrunch's Equity podcast interviews the head of Startup Banking after the release of the vendor's Startup Insights report. It is the longest independent conversation with the person who runs the program, useful for judging how the team thinks about early-stage clients. Runs 32:38, posted 18 September 2024, about 470 views, produced by TechCrunch. It is an interview about startups in general and does not demo the product. Transcript not read.
TechCrunch on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IbqfgNKjp0w
2:55
Real-user
From Startup to Success: How Bambee Grew | J.P. Morgan
The founder of HR company Bambee describes building the business, in a vendor-produced client story. It gives a founder's view of the relationship and little on mechanics. Runs 2:55, posted 4 September 2024, about 600 views, made by the vendor as marketing. No product screens or pricing appear. Transcript not read.
jpmorgan on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zPCPPwb5ouA
1:37
Workflow demo
How to View User Activity in Access & Security Manager | Chase for Business
Shows where an admin reviews and filters what authorized users did on the account, such as transfers and bill payments. Auditors ask for exactly this view, so it is worth watching before a controls review. Runs 1:37, posted 13 May 2025, about 570 views, made by Chase. It is the small business version of the screen and does not show export options. Transcript not read.
Chase on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWSQ6dlwPVY
3:25
Workflow demo
Access & Security Manager: Assign and edit rights | Chase for Business
Shows how an admin assigns account-level rights and edits them for an authorized user. This is the permission model a finance lead will set up on day one: who can see, who can transact, who can approve. Runs 3:25, posted 13 May 2025, about 360 views, made by Chase. It covers Chase Business Online; the Connect guide describes the same tool with commercial banking options. Transcript not read.
Chase on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sC4hxmuAnTo
2:47
Workflow demo
How to Approve Transactions in Access & Security Manager | Chase for Business
A screen walkthrough of approving a pending payment in Access & Security Manager, the same control tool named in the Connect guides. A controller can see what the second-approver step looks like before asking a banker for a demo. Runs 2:47, posted 1 August 2025, about 1,200 views, made by Chase, the bank's small business brand. It shows Chase Business Online, so screens in Connect may differ. Transcript not read.
Chase on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rt6NeWQApgo
0:16
Real-user
Starting a company is the hardest things you'll do. J.P. Morgan's Startup team breaks it down
A 16-second clip posted by a third-party channel, Startup Club, featuring the J.P. Morgan startup team. It is useful only as a sign that the team appears at founder community events. Runs 0:16, posted 23 April 2026, about 40 views; the channel's link to the vendor is not stated. It is too short to carry product detail. Transcript not read.
Startup Club on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/gMTynp7QxSc
0:49
Real-user
Building Payments Solutions with Rippling
A short client story on J.P. Morgan Payments working with Rippling, including moving $100 million in payments, per the video description. It shows where a venture-backed company can end up on the payments side once volumes grow. Runs 0:49, posted 1 May 2024, about 1,200 views, made by the vendor. Rippling is a late-stage company, so this is no guide to a seed-stage setup. Transcript not read.
jpmorgan on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/moEsvLyZyLo
1:05
Real-user
Keys to Success from Three Founders | J.P. Morgan
Three founders discuss team culture on the sidelines of the vendor's Innovation Economy Summit in Boston. For a buyer it mainly confirms that the program runs events for clients and prospects. Runs 1:05, posted 21 July 2025, about 1,100 views, made by the vendor. No banking features appear. Transcript not read.
jpmorgan on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/U3YGbIHJEgY
1:02
Real-user
Networking Tips from Founders | Innovation Economy | J.P. Morgan
Three founders talk about building investor and peer networks, filmed for the Innovation Economy team. It shows the network pitch that sits beside the bank account, which is part of what the relationship model sells. Runs 1:02, posted 12 June 2025, about 1,800 views, made by the vendor. It says nothing about the banking product itself. Transcript not read.
jpmorgan on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/p7zbapAp4Sw
0:19
Real-user
Learn how J.P. Morgan helps startups break into new markets
The founder of chip company d-Matrix credits his J.P. Morgan team for help scaling into new global markets. A finance lead planning a second country can take it as evidence that the banker model extends abroad. Runs 0:19, posted 25 March 2026, about 2,100 views, made by the vendor as marketing. It gives no detail on accounts, countries or cost. Transcript not read.
jpmorgan on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/YcSMHtAAQY8
0:27
Real-user
Why Longeye Co-Founder Chose J.P. Morgan for His AI Startup
A co-founder of the AI startup Longeye explains why he picked J.P. Morgan as the company's bank. It is the closest thing to a named early-stage reference in the vendor's short videos, which matters to a founder asking who else at seed stage banks here. Runs 0:27, posted 9 April 2026, about 1,400 views, made by the vendor as marketing. It shows no product screens and names no fees. Transcript not read.
jpmorgan on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/7p_qB1yqk78
Side by side

Compare on what matters

Dimension
J.P. Morgan Startup Banking
72
/100
This page
First Citizens Innovation Banking
76
Pick a tool
Compliance depth
Chartered bank holding its own deposits. Connect documents 3 access levels, per-user daily limits, Dual Control and one year of user activity.
Chartered bank: site says deposit products are offered by First-Citizens Bank, Member FDIC. Platform page lists 40+ permission dimensions and multi-step approvals.
Site says it is a fintech company, with banking through Choice Financial Group and Column N.A. Lists roles, permissions, approval flows, MFA and SOC 2.
Scalability
Wires in nearly 70 currencies, clients served in 50+ countries per the vendor, lending on the shelf; same-day ACH capped at $100,000 (guide figure dated March 2022).
Covers pre-seed through corporate banking, with venture debt and growth capital term loans among the 2026 transactions listed on its home page.
Self-serve platform with a Payments API; the Pro plan adds NetSuite categorizations and a relationship manager. Deposits sit at partner banks.
AI / agent readiness
First-party MCP server only searches developer docs. ERP links to Connect are read-only, and payment APIs need a multi-week client onboarding.
Links to a developer portal at developer.firstcitizens.com; no MCP server or AI connector is named on its startup banking page (checked 11 October 2026).
Hosted Mercury MCP, in beta, connects Claude or ChatGPT over OAuth. An agent can request a payment; approval happens in Mercury.
Support
Named startup bankers by region; Connect Service Center runs Monday to Friday, 8 AM to 9 PM ET; BILL handles Cashflow360 technical support.
Relationship manager model per client quotes on its startup page; contact page lists a help desk line, weekdays 5:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Pacific.
Email or dashboard support on every plan; a dedicated relationship manager comes with the Pro plan, per its pricing page.
Implementation
No online application: each Get started button opens a contact form. Eligibility rules and opening time are not published.
Get started opens a 3-step questionnaire; if the company qualifies, a team member reaches out. Opening time is not stated (checked 11 October 2026).
Home page says to apply online in 10 minutes; the application is self-serve from the site with no banker step shown.
Pricing transparency
Site says no fees for up to three years on included services. The included list, the standard fees after and the FX spread are not published.
Startup page: Essentials Checking free up to three years, then $50 a month plus wire fees. Its Essentials page says $25 a month, waived at $15,000.
Published pricing: $0 a month, paid plans from $35 a month billed monthly, free USD ACH and wires, 1 percent on non-USD wires, up to 3 percent on non-USD card spend.
Banking & payments coverage
Checking, savings, ACH, real-time payments, wires, checks, Cashflow360 bill pay and invoicing, virtual and commercial cards, loans, merchant services.
Checking, money market, bill pay, ACH, wires, mobile deposit, a charge card, merchant services, venture debt and global banking, per its site.
Checking and savings through partner banks, debit and credit cards, bill pay, invoicing and reimbursements; Treasury is a separate securities product.
Integrations & data flow
Cashflow360 syncs two-way with QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Dynamics 365 BC. Bank data reaches ERPs through a read-only link.
Site says clients can view balances, initiate payments and reconcile from inside NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Microsoft Dynamics.
Bank feed import for QuickBooks Online, Xero and NetSuite on every plan; automatic categorization covers NetSuite only on Pro.
Pricing intelligence

What it actually costs

Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.

AF Score
72/100
Audit Friendly score for J.P. Morgan Startup Banking across eight dimensions, 11 October 2026.
Who holds deposits
Its own bank
JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., a national bank, holds the deposits itself; no partner banks are involved (checked 11 October 2026).
Fee waiver
Up to 3 years
The startup page says no fees for up to three years on included services, subject to program eligibility (checked 11 October 2026).
Startup Banking program, first three years
$0 on included services

Site says "No fees for up to three years on included services" (published, read 11 October 2026). Subject to continued program eligibility. The included services and volumes come from a banker.

Standard fees after three years
Not published

The footnote says standard fees begin three years from the date of initial account opening. No schedule is public; ask for it in writing.

International wires (FX)
Spread; figure not published

The Connect FX wires page says the exchange rate includes a spread and may include commissions or other costs. No figure is shown (read 11 October 2026).

Cashflow360
Not published

Bill pay and invoicing built with BILL and reached from Connect. No fee is shown on the Cashflow360 page; whether it is an included service is a banker question.

Commercial cards
Not published

One Card, Corporate Card, Purchasing Card and Virtual Card. Fees and rebate terms are set per program agreement and are not shown.

Checking and high-yield savings (startup pages)
Rate not published

Site says, checked 11 October 2026: "Maximize yield on idle cash" on the startup page and "checking and high-yield savings accounts" on the early-stage page, with no rate shown. Checking and savings are deposit accounts. The startup page does not name the product behind its yield line, so ask whether it is a deposit or a sweep into securities; sweep and liquidity products are listed separately by J.P. Morgan Payments.

Chase for Business: Business Complete Banking
$15/mo or $0

Separate small business door of the same bank (published, read 11 October 2026). Waived with a $2,000 minimum daily ending balance or one of several other qualifying activities.

Chase for Business: Performance Business Checking
$40/mo or $0

Separate small business door (published). Waived with $35,000 or more in average beginning day balances across qualifying linked business deposit accounts.

Chase for Business: Platinum Business Checking
$95/mo or $0

Separate small business door (published). Waived with $100,000 or more in average beginning day balances across qualifying linked accounts.

Audit Friendly pricing intel
Get your real
J.P. Morgan Startup Banking
 number
Tell us your setup and we'll line up a tailored quote and benchmark it against what similar companies pay. Free. Vendors pay us, never you.
Company profile
Solutions needed
Target go-live
Estimate and get my quote
Request received. We will line up your quote and benchmark it.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Implementation reality

What it actually takes to go live

Difficulty
Medium
2
Need help implementing?
Vetted
J.P. Morgan Startup Banking
 partners
Find a partner →
No items found.
There is no self-serve signup: every Get started button on the startup pages opens a contact form, and a banker takes it from there. The vendor does not publish eligibility rules, required documents or an opening time for the program. After opening, an admin activates payment services in Connect, adds users and turns on Dual Control, and Cashflow360 accounting sync is set up in an onboarding appointment.
Who you need on the project
A founder or CFO as primary admin, a controller or bookkeeper as authorized user or Cashflow360 collaborator, the J.P. Morgan startup banker and service team, and BILL support for the accounting sync.
Things to watch for
01
Disclosure
Who actually holds the money

The site says: "JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. Deposits held in non-U.S. branches are not FDIC insured. Non-deposit products are not FDIC insured." (https://www.jpmorgan.com/commercial-banking/cashflow360, read 11 October 2026). JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. is a national bank and holds deposits itself, so there is no partner bank layer. The startup page footer carries only a copyright line; the disclosure appears on the Cashflow360 and Connect pages it links to. No coverage figure beyond the Member FDIC line is advertised on the startup, Connect or Cashflow360 pages. Liquidity products such as investment sweeps are listed on a separate J.P. Morgan Payments page, so ask which products are deposits.

01
Pricing
The three-year clock

The startup page says "No fees for up to three years on included services" (read 11 October 2026). The footnote adds that the waiver depends on continued program eligibility and that standard fees begin three years from the date of initial account opening. The list of included services and volumes comes from a banker. No standard fee schedule is published, so the year 4 cost is unknown until someone asks.

01
Onboarding
No online application

On the startup page and the early-stage page, Get started, Become a client and Contact a banker all link to the same contact form (read 11 October 2026). The form asks for title, phone, state, need and total sales volume. Eligibility rules, required documents and opening time are not published for the program. Mercury and Grasshopper Bank both take applications online.

01
Integration
The ERP link is read-only

The Third-Party and ERP Connectivity guide, last updated March 2026, says the feature "does not permit the initiation of transactions from an ERP or third-party application". It shares account information, balances, transactions and statements with apps the user links. Payment initiation by API is a separate J.P. Morgan Payments product, and the developer portal sizes client onboarding at 4 to 6 weeks before installation and testing (read 11 October 2026).

01
Coverage
Bill pay runs on BILL

The Cashflow360 page says the product is built in collaboration with BILL and calls BILL the engine behind it (read 11 October 2026). Bookkeepers and accountants added as collaborators sign in through BILL and cannot see bank account details or make payments. Payments go by ACH or mailed check to payees with a U.S. address and U.S. bank account, so international payables need wires in Connect. BILL provides the technical support.

01
Pricing
FX pricing is a spread nobody publishes

The Connect FX wires page says the exchange rate includes a spread and may include commissions or other costs, and that the rate may vary among customers by relationship, amount and currency (read 11 October 2026). It adds: "You should expect that these rates will be less favorable than rates quoted online or in publications." Connect shows a live rate before sending. Compare that quote against a mid-market rate on a sample payment before moving volume.

How Claude & agents work with it
2
/ 5
Agent readiness

Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.

No bank-data MCP: the first-party MCP server only searches J.P. Morgan Payments developer docs, and ERP links to Connect are read-only.
First Citizens Innovation Banking
Mercury

Exists: A first-party MCP server exists. J.P. Morgan Payments publishes it in an open-source AI toolkit on GitHub (jpmorgan-payments/ai, Apache 2.0, repository created 2 July 2026). The server is older than the toolkit: the repository's commit history shows its first version dated 18 September 2025 in a separate pdp-mcp repository, merged into the toolkit on 16 September 2026. It is a documentation server: its three tools are read_documentation, search_documentation and related, and they read the Payments Developer Portal. The toolkit also ships agent skills, with plugins for Claude Code, Codex and Cursor, that guide a developer through onboarding, OAuth and API integration code; they hold no account data. No J.P. Morgan server appears in the official MCP registry (searched 11 October 2026).

Scope: The MCP server holds no account data and cannot move money. Bank data leaves Connect in two documented ways. Third-Party Connectivity shares account details, balances, transactions and statements with an ERP or outside app, and the March 2026 guide says the feature does not permit the initiation of transactions. J.P. Morgan Business Direct Connect is a read-only data API on the Financial Data Exchange standard with OAuth consent. Payment initiation exists in the separate Global Payments API for onboarded J.P. Morgan Payments clients; the startup pages do not say whether a Startup Banking account qualifies.

Turnkey: Nothing here is turnkey for an agent. The docs MCP server is cloned from GitHub and run locally with Python 3.10 or newer, for developers working in Copilot, Claude or GPT tools. API access follows a sales-led path that the developer portal sizes at 4 to 6 weeks of client onboarding, 5 to 10 days of installation, 2 to 4 weeks of testing and 5 to 15 days to activate production.

In-product AI: the startup and Connect pages name no AI features. The vendor describes a Virtual Assistant built with artificial intelligence inside J.P. Morgan Access, its corporate treasury portal, which is a different platform from Connect. Cashflow360 runs on BILL's engine, and the Cashflow360 page makes no AI claim.

Claude can
Search and read J.P. Morgan Payments developer documentation through the local docs MCP server, and analyze transaction files that a user exports from Connect as CSV, PDF or Excel.
Claude can't
Read live balances or transactions through a first-party connector, or create, approve or send a payment in Connect. Payments are made by entitled users, and with Dual Control on, a second user must approve each one.
What's new · agent-updated every 2 weeks

J.P. Morgan Startup Banking, kept current

September 16, 2026
Feature
J.P. Morgan Payments folds its documentation MCP server into an open-source AI toolkit

Commit history in the jpmorgan-payments/ai repository shows the documentation MCP server, first committed on 18 September 2025 in a separate pdp-mcp repository, was merged into the toolkit on 16 September 2026; the toolkit repository itself was created on 2 July 2026. The server reads and searches Payments Developer Portal documentation and holds no account data.

March 30, 2026
News
OCC terminates its March 2024 consent order against JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A.

The order, signed 30 March 2026, ended an enforcement action over gaps in trade surveillance at the corporate and investment bank. Banking Dive reported on 17 April 2026 that a companion Federal Reserve order appeared to remain in place.

September 15, 2025
Connector
JPMorgan Chase and Plaid renew their data access agreement with a new pricing structure

Finovate reported on 16 September 2025 that Plaid will pay JPMorgan Chase to facilitate data access for its fintech clients. The deal matters to any startup that links J.P. Morgan or Chase accounts to outside apps through an aggregator.

March 4, 2025
News
CFPB drops its Zelle lawsuit against JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. and two other banks

The suit, filed in December 2024 over consumer fraud losses on Zelle, was dismissed with prejudice on 4 March 2025 (reported by Crowdfund Insider). It concerned consumer payments and did not involve startup accounts.

Questions buyers ask

J.P. Morgan Startup Banking FAQ

What does J.P. Morgan Startup Banking cost?
−

The published answer is short. The startup page says no fees for up to three years on included services (published, checked 11 October 2026). The footnote says the waiver depends on continued program eligibility and that standard fees begin three years from account opening.

The included services and volumes, the standard fee schedule, wire fees, Cashflow360 fees and card pricing are not published. International wires carry an exchange rate with a spread that is not disclosed.

For reference, the same bank's Chase for Business brand publishes monthly service fees of $15, $40 and $95 with balance-based waivers. Those accounts are a separate small business door and do not describe Startup Banking pricing.

How does a company close the account and get statements, payees and history out?
+

The closing steps are not published; expect to go through the banker or the service team, and ask for the process in writing before opening.

For the data, the Account Activity guide (last updated April 2026) says Connect downloads transaction history as CSV, PDF or Excel, lets users view or download statements and can schedule saved reports. The Connect page says up to 24 months of transaction history is available online. The wires guide mentions an export of domestic recipients; Cashflow360 vendors and bills live in the BILL-built module and sync to the accounting system.

Who is eligible, and how long does opening take?
+

The early-stage page aims the program at pre-seed and seed startups, and the main page covers venture-backed companies through pre-IPO. The fee waiver is subject to program eligibility, and the criteria are not published.

Opening starts with a contact form and a banker. The vendor publishes no opening time and no document list for the program (checked 11 October 2026). Chase for Business, the same bank's small business brand, does take online applications for sole proprietorships, corporations and single-manager LLCs.

Can Claude or another AI agent operate it, and can it move money?
+

An agent cannot move money in Connect today. The only first-party MCP server is a documentation server from J.P. Morgan Payments: it searches and reads developer docs and holds no account data.

Bank data can reach other software through Third-Party Connectivity or the read-only Business Direct Connect API, and the vendor's guide says the connectivity feature does not permit initiating transactions. A Global Payments API can initiate payments for onboarded J.P. Morgan Payments clients; the startup pages do not say whether a Startup Banking account qualifies.

Inside Connect, payments are created by entitled users, and with Dual Control on, a second user approves each one. Any API build should keep a human approval step in front of payment release.

Ask AF

Ask us anything

Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.

Ask AF
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
What does it actually cost?
How long does implementation take?
Can Claude connect to it?
Question
Answer
Ready to get a real number?
Getting a real number means talking to a J.P. Morgan startup banker: ask for the written list of included services and volumes behind the three-year waiver, plus the standard fee schedule that follows it. This review covers the software and the published terms. It is not advice on where to keep money.