Melio
AP Automation
Vetted by Audit Friendly
Updated 8 days ago · next refresh 14d

Melio Review

Melio is US bill pay for small businesses and their accountants: pay any vendor by ACH, check, wire, virtual card or credit card on a free plan or monthly plans from $25. Owned by Xero since October 2025, it also powers embedded bill pay for Fiserv, Capital One, Shopify, Clover and Gusto.

The short version
Published plans: Go free, Core $25, Boost $55, Unlimited $80 a month; ACH is $0.50 after the free quota and card-funded payments cost 2.9 percent.|Xero bought Melio for US$2.5 billion upfront, completed 15 October 2025; Melio co-founder Matan Bar now also runs Xero US.|Embedded bill pay runs inside Xero, Fiserv CashFlow Central, Capital One, Shopify, Clover and Gusto; a B2B payouts API is in closed beta.|No first-party MCP server found on 26 September 2026; Agent Mel answers read-only AP questions in the app on Core plans and above.
Demo video
Watch the
Melio
 demo
Score
73
Price
Free, or $25 to $80/mo (published)
Time to live
Minutes to days (vendor)
Best fit
US SMBs and accounting firms
How it's priced
Published tiers: monthly plans, user add-ons, payment fees
In market
2018
Audit Friendly Score
73
/ 100

Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.

The lowest-scoring dimension is the weak point. Read that one first.
Payments & money movement
88
+

The fee table covers ACH, same-day ACH, instant transfer, check, fast and overnight check, wire, same-day wire, single-use virtual card, card-funded payments at 2.9 percent, international payments to 80+ countries and pay over time (melio.com/pricing). Melio Solutions Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS 2376858) and runs KYB and AML itself. The pricing page lists no payer card program of its own, and Expense Management works with cards a business already holds, so rebates come only from those cards.

Pricing transparency
86
+

Every plan price, per-user add-on and payment fee is on melio.com/pricing, including ACH, check, wire, same-day, instant, card and international fees (checked 26 September 2026). The FX margin on local-currency payments is not quantified, Platinum is custom, and the terms say fees may change at any time without prior notice.

Implementation
82
+

Setup is self-serve: verify the business, link a bank and connect QuickBooks Online or Xero from Settings in four or five steps (melio.com integration pages). Xero's FAQ says many businesses are approved instantly, though some are asked for documents at the first payment. NetSuite sync is still in gradual release, and Unlimited adds dedicated onboarding (pricing FAQ).

GL / ERP fit
62
+

Two-way sync with QuickBooks Online and Xero covers bills, line items, classes, locations, vendors and payments, with Xero syncing hourly (help center). QuickBooks Desktop and NetSuite need higher plans, and the NetSuite sync skips classes, departments and attachments (help center, 25 May 2026). There is no Sage Intacct, Business Central or SAP connector.

Support
60
+

Chat is included on all plans per the pricing page comparison and the help center plan table (updated 17 August 2026). The support article (updated 23 September 2026) lists a request form with a 24-hour email target and phone callbacks Monday to Friday, 10 AM to 5 PM Eastern, only on Boost and Unlimited. Capterra shows 4.2 of 5 from 405 reviews with customer service at 4.0 (reported). A review aggregator cites Trustpilot at 3.8 of 5, with holds and slow escalations as the main complaints (reported).

Compliance depth
58
+

Approvals by amount and multiple approvers start on Core. Melio's own pages disagree on the rest: the help center plan table (updated 17 August 2026) puts per-vendor, per-scheduler and gradual approvals on Boost and up, while the pricing page comparison lists them on Core (both checked 26 September 2026). W-9 collection with TIN matching and Tax1099 sync cover 1099s, and the security page lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, 27017 and 27018. There is no PO matching, no SOC 1 report is listed, and audit trail reports only hold records from November 2025.

Scalability
52
+

Multiple entities run as separate companies under one login, and Unlimited allows unlimited users (melio.com/multi-entity-bill-payment-solution). Xero's bill payments FAQ sets a $1 million limit per bill payment, NetSuite OneWorld syncs one subsidiary per Melio company, and the terms let Melio impose payment limits at any time. The platform moves more than $30 billion a year (vendor, June 2026), but the product is built for SMB volumes, not a mid-market AP department.

AI / agent readiness
40
+

AI bill capture and QuickBooks Online auto-categorization are in product, and Agent Mel (launched 28 January 2026) answers read-only AP questions but cannot schedule payments (help center); melio.com/ai-agent still marks it as Beta. No first-party MCP server was found in the MCP registry, the Melio GitHub organization or melio.com on 26 September 2026. The B2B Payouts API is a closed beta covering payouts only, with agentic support on the roadmap (melio.com/api).

Expand all
Click any dimension to read the reasoning behind the number.
The verdict

Low-cost, broad-rail bill pay for US small businesses, with thin ERP depth and no agent surface yet.

Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.

You are buying a payment rail with a light AP layer on top. Melio lets a US small business pay any vendor by ACH, check, wire, virtual card or a credit card the vendor does not accept, and it syncs bills and payments with QuickBooks or Xero. Plans run from free to $80 a month, with $10 extra users on Core and Boost (published, checked 26 September 2026), and the money is made on payment fees such as 2.9 percent for card-funded payments. Xero has owned Melio since 15 October 2025, and the same engine runs bill pay inside Xero, Fiserv's CashFlow Central, Capital One, Shopify, Clover and Gusto.

The catch is depth and control. There is no PO matching, the security page lists SOC 2 Type II but no SOC 1 report, and the audit trail report only covers activity from November 2025. NetSuite sync sits on the $80 Unlimited plan, maps one subsidiary per Melio company and does not carry classes or departments. As a licensed money transmitter, Melio can hold or decline a payment, and its terms say it may decline to explain why; account holds and slow escalations are the most repeated complaints in public reviews (reported). The terms also let fees change without prior notice.

Before signing, get in writing: the fee schedule for the next 12 months, including the FX margin; whether ACH payments can be converted to virtual cards for your vendors and how to switch that off; per-payment and daily limits for your account; and the review and hold process, with a named escalation contact. NetSuite users should run a live test of subsidiary, account and department mapping. Xero US users should also price Xero's built-in bill payments, which need no Melio subscription.

Best for
  • A US small business paying 20 to 200 bills a month from QuickBooks Online or Xero that wants plans under $100 a month, with unlimited users on the top tier.
  • An owner who wants to pay suppliers by credit card to stretch cash, even when the supplier only takes ACH or checks.
  • An accounting firm running AP for many small clients from one free firm dashboard, with discounted client plans.
Not for
  • A mid-market AP team that needs 2 or 3-way PO matching, a SOC 1 report or detailed segregation-of-duties evidence for auditors.
  • Companies on Sage Intacct, Business Central or SAP, or NetSuite users who code bills to classes and departments.
  • Businesses based outside the US, or payers who cannot tolerate a compliance hold on a payment without a clear explanation.
What it solves for finance

The jobs a finance team actually hires Melio for

Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.

Cash flow

Pay suppliers by card when they only take ACH or check

Melio charges the card at 2.9 percent and delivers ACH or a check, so the supplier never has to accept cards. It stretches cash by a billing cycle and earns card rewards, but the fee only pays off when rewards or float are worth more than 2.9 percent.

Accounting firms

Run AP for many small clients from one dashboard

Firms manage every client from one login with six permission levels and ask Agent Mel about any client's payables. Clients pay their own discounted plans, and firms answer for client payment methods under the terms.

Tax

Pay contractors and prepare 1099s

Melio requests W-9s by email, validates TINs and totals payments against the 1099 threshold. Only vendors with verified W-9s sync to Tax1099, so pending forms must be cleared before filing season.

Multi-entity

Pay bills for several entities under one login

Each entity is its own company in Melio with its own approval rules and ledger sync, and users can be limited to specific entities. There is no consolidated multi-entity ledger or intercompany handling.

Embedded

Embed bill pay in a bank or software platform

Melio's white-label AP and AR runs inside partner products with SSO and partner branding; Fiserv, Capital One, Shopify, Clover, Gusto and Xero are named partners. A separate B2B Payouts API for platforms is in closed beta.

Global

Pay overseas suppliers in their currency

Payers send USD or local currency and see the rate before confirming. Payments abroad are non-refundable and non-reversible under the terms, and Melio Platinum offers better FX for $100,000 or more a quarter.

Compare, reimagined

Watch the same task in each tool

Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.

More demos
Clips · agent-checked monthly
18:19
Real-user
Melio Review: A Better Accounts Payable Alternative to QuickBooks?
An 18-minute review from a fractional CFO firm's channel covering Melio pricing, ACH limits, vendor payments, bill upload and the QuickBooks Online sync, including where it falls short. The most useful independent walkthrough found for a QuickBooks shop, though the description carries a Melio referral link. Posted 9 February 2026 with about 1,200 views. Transcript not read.
Financial Tech Lab by Clara CFO Group on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=giO_LQOZhRI
10:43
Integration
Xero and Melio: One Connected Workflow for Accounting & Payments | EP. 193
A 10:43 interview recorded at Xerocon 2026 in which Insightful Accountant talks with Matan Bar, CEO of Xero US and Melio, about bringing payments into Xero. Useful for Xero users deciding between standalone Melio and Xero's built-in bill payments, but it is a conversation, not a product demo. Posted 28 August 2026 by an accounting trade outlet with about 29 views. Transcript not read.
Insightful Accountant on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pY-CieHVAW4
2:10
Real-user
Doria Wines Customer Story: Reliable and Simplified International Payments with Melio
A 2:10 customer story in which the founder of Doria Wines, a small importer working across the US and Italy, explains how she pays suppliers abroad through Melio. Relevant to importers paying in euros, though it is a vendor-produced testimonial and does not show exchange rates or fees. Posted 20 July 2026 by Melio with about 46 views. Transcript not read.
Melio Payments on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6o2KAODBOk
7:28
Workflow demo
Onboard Clients with Confidence in Melio
A 7:28 Melio Academy video showing an accounting firm adding a client, entering business details, choosing a plan, syncing accounting software and paying vendors. The most complete official setup walkthrough found, useful for firms sizing onboarding effort. Posted 4 August 2025 by Melio with about 98 views; vendor-made, so it skips edge cases such as verification holds. Transcript not read.
Melio Payments on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZQdc4D1cmE
2:07
Workflow demo
How to Build Smarter Approval Safeguards in Melio
A 2-minute Melio Academy walkthrough of approval rules triggered by payment amount, scheduler role or vendor. This is the control a controller asks about first; Melio's pages disagree on which plan includes per-vendor and per-scheduler rules (Boost and up in the help center plan table, Core in the pricing page comparison, checked 26 September 2026). Posted 4 August 2025 by Melio with about 66 views; as a vendor tutorial it shows the happy path only. Transcript not read.
Melio Payments on YouTube (official)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qUfa215H-E
0:45
Real-user
Stop letting Meta Ads ruin your cash flow #melio #amazonfba #ads
A 45-second Short from an ecommerce creator on paying Meta ad invoices by credit card through Melio instead of a direct bank debit. Relevant to online sellers managing ad-spend float, though it reads as a promotion and the description does not state the 2.9 percent card fee. Posted 28 August 2026 with about 843 views. Transcript not read.
Travis Marziani on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/uRqoXt-NeTE
0:59
Real-user
Melio Review Credit Card Payments for Contractors! #lukespointsandmiles
A 59-second Short from a credit card rewards channel on paying contractors by card through Melio to earn points. It shows why owners use card-funded payments, but the creator links a Melio referral URL and the 2.9 percent card fee can outweigh the rewards. Posted 19 September 2025 with about 1,200 views. Transcript not read.
Luke's Points and Miles on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/pof7BHKcTPA
1:08
Real-user
Why You're Not Getting Paid Faster (and How Melio Fixes It)
A 1:08 Short from Jamie Trull showing how to send a Melio payment link so a client can pay by bank or card without creating an account. Useful for small firms that want AR and AP in one tool, though it skips the 2.9 percent fee on card payments received. Posted 20 August 2026 with about 114 views. Transcript not read.
Jamie Trull on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/DaKydOyhMVA
0:26
Real-user
Why Wait 3-5 Days? Melio Does Same Day Payments!
A 26-second Short from Jamie Trull on paying a vendor same day through Melio instead of waiting for standard ACH. Relevant when a supplier demands immediate payment, but it skips the cost: same-day ACH is 1 percent up to $75 on Melio's published fee table. Posted 27 August 2026 with about 255 views. Transcript not read.
Jamie Trull on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/0sxaUjftzYk
1:34
Real-user
CPA's Honest Review of Melio (You'll Be Surprised)
A 1:34 Short in which CPA and creator Jamie Trull gives a quick verdict on Melio for small business owners. A fast read on how an accountant sees the tool, though a Short cannot show setup or fees in depth and the description does not say whether it is sponsored. Posted 17 August 2026 with about 199 views. Transcript not read.
Jamie Trull on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/k-vMIXKl3MY
0:24
Real-user
Melio and Xero | Xerocon Denver 2026
A 24-second clip from Xerocon Denver 2026 in which Melio CEO Matan Bar explains why Melio joined Xero. Useful context for a buyer weighing how the parent company will shape the product, but it shows no software. Posted 19 August 2026 by Xero, Melio's owner, with about 255 views. Transcript not read.
Xero Accounting Software on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/CT8MAbehsE8
Side by side

Compare on what matters

Dimension
Melio
73
/100
This page
BILL
78
Pick a tool
Compliance depth
Approvals by amount, scheduler and vendor; W-9 TIN checks and Tax1099 sync; SOC 2 Type II. No PO matching; audit trail records start November 2025.
Role-based approvals, unalterable audit trail, W-9 Agent, 1099 e-file to IRS and 50 states, SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II; dual control only on Enterprise.
SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II; unlimited approval levels; 2 and 3 way PO match on NetSuite USD POs only; OFAC, TIN and bank checks are add-ons below Enterprise.
Scalability
Each entity is its own company on one login; unlimited users on Unlimited; $1M per bill payment in Xero's version (Xero FAQ); NetSuite syncs one subsidiary per company.
479,300 businesses; $98 billion paid in the June 2026 quarter; 2,000-bill batches; multi-entity from Corporate; 3 concurrent API calls per developer key per organization.
Pitched for 100 to 100,000+ payments; Fora sends 20,000+ a month (vendor). Multi-entity starts at Scale; docs describe payouts from US-based payers.
AI / agent readiness
AI bill capture and QBO coding; Agent Mel answers read-only AP questions in app (Beta); payouts API in closed beta; no first-party MCP found.
W-9 and Invoice Coding agents in-product; free v3 API covers bills, approvals and payments; its only MCP server is docs-only. Payments need SMS MFA.
OCR by Rossum and coding by Kaunt (disclosed sub-processors); developer MCP runs any of 52 API calls with a token; no OAuth connector for finance users.
Support
Chat and email on all plans with a 24-hour email target; phone callbacks weekdays 10 AM to 5 PM ET only on Boost and Unlimited; Capterra service 4.0.
Chat daily; phone for select verified customers, premium on Enterprise. Trustpilot 1.7 of 5, recency weighted; all-time 43 percent 5-star, 41 percent 1-star, 26 Sep 2026.
Email and web tickets answered in 1 to 3 business days, 6am to 5pm PT weekdays; Slack, developer support and a CSM are add-ons on Scale, included on Enterprise and not offered on Growth.
Implementation
Self-serve signup, business verification and QuickBooks or Xero connect in a few steps; NetSuite sync in gradual release; Unlimited adds onboarding.
QuickBooks and Xero users self-onboard; BILL solution specialists help larger and other-ERP customers with the import/export process. NetSuite partner: weeks to 3 months.
First payments in as little as a week, about 4 weeks with training (vendor); dedicated implementation lead; docs say the sandbox follows a sales call.
Pricing transparency
Published: Go free, Core $25, Boost $55, Unlimited $80 a month, plus a full fee table (ACH $0.50 after free quota, card 2.9 percent).
Published: $49, $65 and $89 per user a month plus a full fee table ($0.59 ACH, $1.99 check). Enterprise, add-ons and the FX margin are quote only.
Growth published at $1,250 a month billed annually or $1,575 monthly; Scale and Enterprise are quotes; per-payment fees vary by speed and are unpublished.
GL / ERP fit
2-way sync with QuickBooks Online and Xero from Core; QuickBooks Desktop and NetSuite on higher plans; no Sage Intacct, Business Central or SAP.
2-way sync with QuickBooks and Xero from Team; NetSuite, Intacct, Dynamics, Acumatica and Rillet only on Enterprise; daily auto sync; CSV for SAP.
Real-time two-way sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Online and Xero, with custom fields and segments; no Business Central, Dynamics or SAP.
Payments & money movement
ACH, same-day and instant, check, overnight check, wire, virtual card, card-funded payments at 2.9 percent, 80+ countries, and pay over time.
ACH $0.59, check $1.99, virtual card free, card-funded 2.9 percent, 130+ countries with an undisclosed FX margin; Positive Pay on checks (published).
4 ACH speeds, RTP and FedNow to 85 to 90 percent of US accounts, push to debit card, 11 check options, local rails and SWIFT; no virtual cards or rebates.
Pricing intelligence

What it actually costs

Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.

AF Score
73/100
Audit Friendly score for Melio across eight dimensions, 26 September 2026.
Payment volume
$30B+
Annual payment volume Melio states in its 17 June 2026 release, checked 26 September 2026.
Customers (June 2025)
80,000
Customers Melio served when Xero announced the acquisition on 24 June 2025, per Xero's release; Melio's site now says over 100,000 businesses (vendor-claimed, checked 26 September 2026).
Go
$0

One user, 5 free ACH payments a month, card, check and wire payments, AI bill capture and invoicing. QuickBooks or Xero sync is limited to the first 10 payments.

Core
$25/mo, or $20/mo annual; +$10/user

20 free ACH a month, full QuickBooks Online and Xero sync, batch payments, amount-based and multi-approver workflows, W-9 collection, Tax1099 sync and Agent Mel. Melio's pages disagree on per-vendor, per-scheduler and gradual approvals and on classes and locations: the pricing page comparison includes them on Core, while the help center plan table (updated 17 August 2026) puts them on Boost and up (both checked 26 September 2026). Extra users are $8 a month on annual billing.

Boost
$55/mo, or $44/mo annual; +$10/user

50 free ACH a month, QuickBooks Desktop sync, advanced user roles and phone callbacks. Melio's pages disagree on approvals and classes: the help center plan table (updated 17 August 2026) puts vendor, scheduler and gradual approvals and classes and locations on Boost and up, while the pricing page comparison lists those approvals on Core and classes and locations on every plan (both checked 26 September 2026), so confirm the plan in writing.

Unlimited
$80/mo, or $64/mo annual

Unlimited free ACH and unlimited users, NetSuite sync, premium support and dedicated onboarding.

Platinum
Custom

Invite-only for high card volume: custom transaction and card fees, discounted FX, faster settlement, account management and API access.

Standard payment fees
$0.50 ACH; $1.50 check; $10 wire

ACH fee applies after the plan's free quota; checks and wires are charged per payment when funded from a bank account.

Faster delivery
1 percent ($75 max); $20 to $50 checks

Same-day ACH and instant transfer cost 1 percent capped at $75; fast check $20, overnight check $50, same-day wire 1 percent ($10 min, $75 max).

Card-funded payments
2.9 percent

Pay any vendor by credit or debit card while the vendor receives ACH or check; faster delivery options add their own fee.

International payments
$20 USD; fast 1 percent ($30 to $95)

USD by ACH is a $20 flat fee; local-currency payments use Melio's exchange rate. Card-funded international adds 2.9 percent.

Pay over time
From 2.9 percent

Net 30 or monthly installments through Credit Key and Lead Bank, subject to approval; the vendor is paid upfront.

Accounts receivable
Free by bank; 2.9 percent by card

Invoices and payment links on every plan; the card fee can be passed to the customer.

Accounting firm plan
$0

Firms get the Unlimited plan free for their own use, with discounted plans for clients.

Audit Friendly pricing intel
Get your real
Melio
 number
Tell us your setup and we'll line up a tailored quote and benchmark it against what similar companies pay. Free. Vendors pay us, never you.
Company profile
Solutions needed
Target go-live
Estimate and get my quote
Request received. We will line up your quote and benchmark it.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Implementation reality

What it actually takes to go live

Difficulty
Low
1
Need help implementing?
Vetted
Melio
 partners
Find a partner →
No items found.
Signup is self-serve: verify the business, link a bank by Plaid or micro-deposits, then connect QuickBooks Online or Xero from Settings. Many businesses are approved instantly, but some must send documents before their first payment is released, per Xero's bill payments FAQ. NetSuite sync is in gradual release on the Unlimited plan, which also includes dedicated onboarding.
Who you need on the project
Owner or controller for business verification and bank linking; AP clerk or bookkeeper for bills, vendors and approval rules; the outside accountant if a firm manages the account; Melio support, or a dedicated onboarding contact on Unlimited and Platinum.
Things to watch for
01
Payments
Compliance holds can stop a payment without a reason

The Melio Solutions terms say Melio may put a payment or payment method on hold for review, may impose limits on size, frequency and timing, and may decline to make payments and decline to explain why (read 26 September 2026). A review aggregator reports holds, suspensions and slow escalations as the leading complaints on Trustpilot, where it cites a 3.8 of 5 rating from 1,601 reviews (reported, CheckThat.ai). Capterra shows customer service at 4.0 of 5. Ask for a named escalation path before moving payroll-critical vendors.

01
Integration
NetSuite sync is narrow and plan-gated

The integration FAQ puts NetSuite (and QuickBooks Desktop) on the Unlimited plan, though the pricing page lists Desktop sync on Boost. Melio's help center (updated 25 May 2026) says NetSuite classes and departments are not supported, attachments do not sync, bills on Payment Hold are skipped, and the feature is in gradual release. OneWorld users create one Melio company per subsidiary, and the first sync pulls only open bills from the last 180 days.

01
Payments
ACH can arrive as a virtual card

Melio's help center (updated 23 September 2026) says a bank-funded ACH payment may be delivered as a single-use virtual card when the uploaded invoice links to a vendor portal that accepts cards or the vendor has chosen virtual card as its default. The Melio Solutions terms go further: if Melio determines a recipient can take a virtual card, it may send the payment that way at its sole discretion and without notice. Melio charges nothing for card delivery, but the vendor may pay point-of-sale card fees. Xero's bill payments FAQ says to raise a support ticket to stop automatic conversion; tell key vendors before switching.

01
Pricing
Fees can change without notice

The terms say fees are subject to change at any time without prior notice and are shown at payment review, while subscription price changes take effect from the next billing cycle. The FX margin on local-currency payments is described as a platform cost but not quantified on the pricing page. Downgrading to the free Go plan after the 90-day trial deletes data from premium features (pricing FAQ, checked 26 September 2026).

01
Compliance
Thin audit evidence for auditors

The security page lists an annual SOC 2 Type II audit and ISO 27001, 27017 and 27018, but no SOC 1 report, and reports require an active account and an NDA. Audit trail reports are generated monthly, can be downloaded only by Owners and Admins, and hold records from November 2025 onward (help center, updated 6 January 2026). There is no PO matching or documented duplicate-invoice check.

01
Migration
Xero's built-in version does not carry your history

Xero's bill payments FAQ (read 26 September 2026) says historical supplier and payment data from an existing Melio account does not transfer when you set up bill payments inside Xero, and you must re-verify your business. The standalone Melio account cannot be opened from within Xero. The two products have different capabilities and fees, so compare before cancelling a Melio subscription.

How Claude & agents work with it
1
/ 5
Agent readiness

Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.

In-app AI only: Agent Mel reads AP data, the payouts API is in closed beta, and no first-party MCP exists.
BILL
Routable

AI bill capture pulls vendor, amount, due date and line items from uploaded, emailed or photographed bills, and for QuickBooks Online users Melio says it suggests classes, locations and categories that learn from corrections. Melio publishes no accuracy figure, so capture quality is unverified.

Agent Mel, launched 28 January 2026 and still labeled Beta, answers questions over live AP data such as unpaid bills, overdue vendors and year-to-date vendor spend. The help center calls it an information-retrieval tool that cannot create bills or schedule payments; it is not on the free Go plan, and clients of accounting firms cannot use it. In June 2026 Melio also launched an agent-powered payment network whose agents log into supplier AR portals to pay them, and the vendor claims more than 30,000 payments and over $100 million in annualized volume. That is Melio's own automation, not an interface an outside agent can call.

Exists: no first-party MCP server was found in the MCP registry, the Melio GitHub organization (two repositories, neither an MCP) or melio.com on 26 September 2026, so scope and turnkey setup do not apply. The B2B Payouts API is a REST API in closed beta for payouts only (not AR), and Melio says agentic support is on the roadmap but not in the current beta. The developer portal returned a Cloudflare block, so its contents were not read. A third-party API profile on GitHub (api-evangelist/melio) is not a Melio product.

Process a vendor invoice

Who wins for whom: Small businesses that want amount-based approvals and W-9 TIN checks from the $25 Core plan: Melio. Teams whose auditors ask for SOC 1 reports and an unalterable audit trail: BILL. NetSuite teams that want 2 and 3 way PO matching before payment: Routable.

Melio

Approval rules and W-9 checks. Melio routes bills through approvals by amount with multiple approvers from the Core plan, collects W-9s with TIN matching, syncs 1099 data to Tax1099, and lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, 27017 and 27018.

Where it loses: There is no PO matching or documented duplicate-invoice check, no SOC 1 report is listed, and audit trail reports only hold records from November 2025 onward.

  • Compliance depth: 58/100
  • Time to live: Minutes to days (vendor)

Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 58; Melio watch-outs.

Watch: How to Build Smarter Approval Safeguards in Melio 2:07 · Official demo · Melio Payments on YouTube (official)

BILL

Approvals, W-9 Agent, 1099 e-file. Every BILL plan gets approval workflows and the W-9 Agent, the audit trail is time-stamped and cannot be altered, 1099s e-file to the IRS and 50 states, and SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audits run annually.

Where it loses: Dual control is Enterprise only, ERP PO sync with 2 and 3-way matching sits on the quote-only Enterprise plan, and none of the pages reviewed mention e-invoicing mandates outside the US.

  • Compliance depth: 80/100
  • Time to live: Days to 3 months (reported)

Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 80; BILL pricing tiers.

Watch: Accounts Payable and Bill Pay using Bill - Is it better than QBO!? 22:55 · Independent walkthrough · Financial Tech Lab by Clara CFO Group on YouTube

Routable

Approvals and NetSuite PO matching. Routable runs unlimited approval levels and rules, matches bill lines to NetSuite PO lines 2 and 3 way with tolerances and holds payment on discrepancies, and carries SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II reports.

Where it loses: PO matching covers only NetSuite POs in USD and is an add-on on Scale, while OFAC, TIN and bank ownership checks are add-ons below Enterprise and e-invoicing is absent.

  • Compliance depth: 74/100
  • Time to live: 1 to 4 weeks (vendor)

Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 74; Routable pricing tiers and watch-outs.

Watch: The Most Flexible Bill Pay Platform for Mass Payouts 3:02 · Official demo · Routable on YouTube (official)

Pay a vendor

Who wins for whom: Owners who want to fund bills by card at 2.9 percent while suppliers receive ACH or check: Melio. Teams that want free virtual card payments and Positive Pay on checks: BILL. Platforms that need instant payouts over RTP and FedNow: Routable.

Melio

Many rails, published fee table. Melio pays by ACH ($0.50 after the plan's free quota), same-day ACH, instant transfer, check, wire and virtual card, charges 2.9 percent to fund any bill by card, and reaches 80+ countries.

Where it loses: Melio can hold, decline or limit a payment and decline to explain why, fees can change without notice, and the FX margin on local-currency payments is not published.

  • Payments & money movement: 88/100
  • Time to live: Minutes to days (vendor)

Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 88; Melio pricing tiers and watch-outs.

Watch: Melio Review: A Better Accounts Payable Alternative to QuickBooks? 18:19 · Review · Financial Tech Lab by Clara CFO Group on YouTube

BILL

Posted per-payment fee table. BILL publishes ACH at $0.59, check at $1.99, free virtual card, card-funded payments at 2.9 percent and instant payments at 1 percent, runs processing in-house with Positive Pay on checks, and pays vendors in 130+ countries.

Where it loses: The FX margin on free local-currency wires is not disclosed, no payer rebate on virtual card payments is published, and API payments need an SMS-verified session.

  • Payments & money movement: 88/100
  • Time to live: Days to 3 months (reported)

Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 88; BILL watch-outs.

Watch: How to Automate Domestic AP Payments with BILL V3 API 14:24 · Official demo · BILL on YouTube (official)

Routable

Instant, ACH, check and local rails. Routable pays over four ACH speeds, RTP and FedNow to 85 to 90 percent of US bank accounts, push to debit card, 11 check options, and local rails or SWIFT to 220+ countries.

Where it loses: There are no virtual cards or card rebates, per-payment fees are quote only, and the terms auto-enroll every client in an Instant Pay loan facility unless it opts out.

  • Payments & money movement: 84/100
  • Time to live: 1 to 4 weeks (vendor)

Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 84; Routable watch-outs.

Watch: Sending Payments via CSV Upload with Routable 0:55 · Official demo · Routable on YouTube (official)

Claude can
Claude can analyze Melio's payments report CSV (date range reaching back at most 12 months), monthly audit trail reports and expense CSVs, and draft approval rules or W-9 request lists for a person to enter.
Claude can't
Claude cannot read or act on a Melio account directly today: there is no MCP server, the API is a closed beta for platforms, and Agent Mel lives only inside the Melio app.
What's new · agent-updated every 2 weeks

Melio, kept current

August 17, 2026
Feature
Melio Expense Management launches

Card expenses from cards a business already holds are captured by SMS or email receipt request, categorized and synced to the ledger. Melio says about 90 percent of its small business users already pay expenses with their own business cards.

June 17, 2026
Feature
Agent-powered B2B payment network

Melio agents log into supplier AR portals to pay them without supplier onboarding. The vendor claims more than 30,000 payments and over $100 million in annualized volume.

March 23, 2026
Connector
Xero launches online bill payments powered by Melio

US Xero customers can pay bills inside Xero, including by credit card, with no separate Melio subscription. Melio co-founder Matan Bar was named CEO of Xero US.

January 28, 2026
Feature
Agent Mel AI assistant launches

A conversational assistant answers questions about bills, payments and vendors from live Melio data. It is labeled Beta and cannot execute tasks.

October 15, 2025
News
Xero completes the Melio acquisition

Xero closed the deal announced in June 2025 for US$2.5 billion upfront, paid as $2.15 billion in cash and $360 million in Xero shares (reported).

May 8, 2025
Connector
Gusto Bill Pay and Invoicing powered by Melio

Gusto embedded Melio's AP and AR so its payroll customers can pay vendors and send invoices inside Gusto.

Questions buyers ask

Melio FAQ

What does Melio cost for a typical small AP team?
−

A three-person team paying about 60 vendors a month by ACH would pay $75 a month on Boost ($55 plus two extra users at $10) and $5 for the 10 ACH payments above the 50-payment quota, about $80 in all. Unlimited costs the same $80 flat but includes unlimited users and free ACH, so it is the better buy once volume or headcount grows (Audit Friendly estimate from published prices, 26 September 2026). Annual billing cuts every plan price by 20 percent.

Card-funded payments change the math. At 2.9 percent, paying $50,000 of bills a month by card costs $1,450 in fees (Audit Friendly estimate), which only makes sense if card rewards or float are worth more. Faster delivery, wires and international payments add their own published fees.

What are the contract terms, and how do you get your data out?
+

Plans are monthly or annual subscriptions that renew automatically each billing cycle. You can cancel in the app or by email, cancellation takes effect at the end of the current cycle, and fees are non-refundable. The terms require individual arbitration unless you opt out within 30 days of first use, and cap Melio's liability at direct damages from the prior six months.

Melio's help center says the payments report exports to CSV with a date range that reaches back at most 12 months, so older history may have to come from the ledger (checked 26 September 2026). Owners and Admins can download monthly audit trail reports (records from November 2025), and expenses export to CSV. Bills and payments already synced stay in QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite if you disconnect. Export before downgrading to Go after the trial, because data from premium features is deleted.

How long does implementation take, and who does it?
+

Most small businesses set Melio up themselves in minutes to days: business verification, bank linking through Plaid or micro-deposits, and a QuickBooks Online or Xero connection from Settings. Some accounts are asked for documents at the first payment, and that payment waits until Melio receives them.

Unlimited includes dedicated onboarding, Platinum adds account management, and accounting firms can set up clients from the firm dashboard. NetSuite users should plan a test period, because the sync is in gradual release, imports only open bills from the last 180 days and asks you to confirm vendor matches that cannot be re-linked later.

Can Claude or another AI agent operate Melio?
+

Not directly today. No first-party MCP server was found on 26 September 2026, and the B2B Payouts API is a closed beta for platforms, with agentic support on Melio's roadmap rather than in the beta.

Inside the app, Agent Mel answers read-only questions about bills, payments and vendors on Core plans and above, but it cannot schedule payments. An outside agent such as Claude can work from Melio's CSV exports and audit trail reports, or from the QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite ledger that Melio syncs to.

Ask AF

Ask us anything

Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.

Ask AF
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
What does it actually cost?
How long does implementation take?
Can Claude connect to it?
Question
Answer
Ready to get a real number?
Start on the 90-day trial with a real month of bills to see the exact fees Melio calculates at checkout for your vendors. If you pay $100,000 or more a month by card (Melio's pages cite $100,000 and $300,000) or $100,000 a quarter abroad, ask for Platinum pricing in writing, covering card fees, FX margin, payment limits and the hold-review process.