Quadient AP, formerly Beanworks, is quote-only AP automation for US and Canadian SMB and mid-market finance teams on QuickBooks, Xero, Sage, NetSuite and Dynamics GP, covering invoice capture, approvals, POs, expenses and partner-run supplier payments.
Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.
The help center has setup sections for 17 ERPs, from QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage Intacct and NetSuite to QuickBooks Desktop, Sage 50, 100, 200, 300, X3, Dynamics GP, Acumatica and SAP Business One (checked 27 September 2026). The Intacct connection role reads departments, locations, classes, projects and user-defined dimensions, and the NetSuite token role reads classes, departments, locations and subsidiaries. Syncs run on a schedule, PO import skips QuickBooks Online, Xero and Intacct, and the Xero export sends header data plus GL account and amount per line.
Approval channels route by amount, org unit, entity and GL lists, and separate creator, approver, exporter and payment roles support segregation of duties (help center, checked 27 September 2026). The audit log records user, field, old value and new value, and duplicates are flagged on vendor plus invoice number. Quadient's trust center lists SOC 2 (recertified 18 December 2025), SOC 3 and ISO 27001 for AP, and the AP terms offer optional e-invoicing for Belgium and France, with Germany added in the 1 September 2026 version. No 1099 or W-9 feature and no SOC 1 report are documented.
Support is CSM-led: the help center routes payments enablement, PO import, billing and plan limits to a Customer Success Manager, and the help center carries setup and error guides for each ERP, many updated in April 2026. Capterra shows 4.5 of 5 overall and 4.2 for customer service across 80 reviews (read 27 September 2026 via WebFetch, direct fetch blocked), with one reviewer reporting replies that range from minutes to 2+ days. The terms bill IT troubleshooting at hourly rates.
The terms charge a setup fee covering technical integration, workflow and training meetings (September 2026 terms). Cloud ERPs such as QuickBooks Online and Xero connect by API in one sitting, but Intacct and NetSuite need Quadient to create an API sync profile, desktop ERPs need the SmartSync app installed on the ERP server, and Acumatica and SAP Business One require Quadient Hub. No typical timeline is published; the AP page's under 6 hours to automate AP is vendor-claimed.
Quadient cites 2,100+ customers and $31B+ in AP spend processed (AP and plans pages, checked 27 September 2026), and the Invoices plan includes unlimited users. Legal entities are a priced line item in the terms. The ceiling shows in payments and ERPs: Corpay pays only in USD from US accounts, wires exclude currencies such as INR, JPY and MXN, and the help center lists no Business Central, S/4HANA or Oracle Fusion connector.
The payments module releases ACH, check and virtual card through REPAY and Corpay, CAD EFT and cross-border wires through Cambridge, checks with Positive Pay through SmartPayables, and Canadian cards through Comdata (help center, checked 27 September 2026). Corpay ACH leaves 2 business days after release and REPAY ACH 3. Eligibility depends on a US or Canadian fund source, the ERP-integrated payment flow covers only six ERPs, and no per-payment fee or card rebate is published.
All three plans say Request Pricing (plans page, checked 27 September 2026), and payment fees are quote only. Quadient does publish the price structure in its terms: setup fee, platform fee, monthly invoice tier, modules, legal entities, and a 10 percent overage buffer before list price applies. Vendr's Quadient median of $19,950 a year is a vendor-wide figure from 24 purchases by 5 unique buyers, and its only priced Quadient SKU is AR Automation, so it carries no AP-specific data (checked 27 September 2026).
SmartCapture is OCR that codes header fields by default and line items only when a CSM enables it; Smart Code copies the last approved coding for a vendor per user (help center, checked 27 September 2026). An AI cash dashboard with natural-language questions launched 10 June 2026. There is no public API, developer portal or MCP server: the MCP registry returned nothing for Quadient or Beanworks, and neither GitHub org holds an AP API or MCP repository.
Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.
What you are buying is the Beanworks platform, now sold as Quadient AP inside the Quadient Suite. It captures invoices by OCR, routes them through approval channels set by amount, entity and GL list, matches them to POs, and exports approved bills to the ERP on a sync schedule. Its strength is ERP breadth at the small end: the help center has setup sections for 17 ERPs, including QuickBooks Desktop, Sage 50, 100, 200 and 300, Dynamics GP and club and property systems that many rivals skip (checked 27 September 2026). A payments module adds ACH, check, card, CAD EFT and wires through five partners.
The catch is openness and pace. There is no public price, no public API, no developer portal and no MCP server, so outside tools and agents cannot read or write your AP data except through Quadient's own ERP sync and CSV exports. The help-center release notes are thin: the August 2026 entry adds a tool tip in Expenses, though Quadient says further release notes sit on Quadient University, outside the public help center. Payments run through third parties whose eligibility rules depend on where your bank account sits, and the ERP-integrated payment flow covers only six ERPs. One Capterra reviewer (February 2025) blamed AI capture for wrong vendors and incorrect payments.
Before signing, get in writing: the monthly invoice tier and the per-invoice list price that applies past the 10 percent buffer; the setup, platform and per-entity fees; each payment partner's per-transaction fees and any card rebate share; a renewal cap, since Quadient's general terms (December 2025) allow annual increases after year 1 and ignore first-term discounts when computing the renewal increase; and an exit plan that includes your invoice images, which the September 2026 terms treat as an extra-fee service.
Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.
System admins build approval channels at global or legal-entity level, keyed to org unit, dollar amount and lists such as GL account or vendor, with single or group approvers. Approvers can act from the iOS or Android app. Quadient's AP page claims 56 percent faster approvals; no independent study backs it.
For QuickBooks Desktop, Sage 50, 100, 200 and 300 and Dynamics GP, the SmartSync app runs on the ERP server and syncs lists, POs, invoices and payments on a schedule. Cloud ERPs connect by API instead. Sage 100 gained Job Cost coding support in July 2026.
Approved payments are released to REPAY or Corpay for ACH, check and card, Cambridge for CAD EFT and cross-border wires, SmartPayables for checks with Positive Pay, or Comdata for Canadian cards. Corpay mails checks 1 business day after release. Rules differ by partner, so confirm which ones your bank location qualifies for.
Invoices sent to an auto-capture email land in the Document Inbox, where SmartCapture codes header fields and, if enabled, line items. Fully captured non-PO invoices can auto-submit for approval. The 99 percent figure is Quadient's own claim.
For Dynamics GP, NetSuite, QuickBooks Desktop, Sage 100, Sage 300, Sage X3 and SAP Business One, POs import through SmartSync, with receivings for certain ERPs showing received versus invoiced quantities; Acumatica's sync through Quadient Hub also brings in PO and receivings data. On QuickBooks Online, Xero and Intacct, POs are created in Quadient AP instead.
Employees snap receipts in the mobile app and submit expense reports, which flow into the Invoices module for approval and payment. Credit card reconciliation connects bank feeds through Plaid as an optional paid feature.
Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.
Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.
Unlimited users, unlimited storage and approval channel delegation, billed by invoices received per period against a tier.
Automated invoice-to-PO match, blanket POs and purchase requisitions, per the plans page.
Category mapping, mobile app and unlimited receipts; expense reports flow into the Invoices module.
ACH, check, virtual card, CAD EFT and wires through REPAY, Corpay, Cambridge, SmartPayables and Comdata; some partners bill directly.
Charged to first-time customers at signing; covers technical integration, workflow and training meetings.
The first 10 percent over the tier bills at the tier rate; beyond that at the latest list price per invoice, which is unpublished.
Entities are priced by count; credit card reconciliation (Plaid), utility bill management and EU e-invoicing are optional paid features.
IT troubleshooting and special installs bill at hourly rates; re-implementation after an ERP change and other services bill at Quadient's then-current rates, per SOW.
Quadient publishes no API reference, sandbox or MCP server for AP, and the MCP registry and GitHub showed none on 27 September 2026. Integrations are built and run by Quadient, with custom ones sold as a service. If the plan includes AI agents, RPA or a warehouse feed from AP, work from ERP data and CSV exports. Ask in writing whether contracted customers can get API access.
Quadient's general terms (December 2025) renew automatically for 12 months unless either side gives notice at least 90 days before term end. After year 1, Quadient may raise fees annually, and discounts from the initial term are excluded when computing the renewal increase. Orders and fees are non-cancellable and non-refundable. Negotiate a renewal cap and a shorter notice window in the Order Form.
The September 2026 terms bill invoices above the tier at the tier's rate for a 10 percent buffer, then at Quadient AP's latest list price per invoice, which no public page shows. Monthly payers are billed at month end; annual payers are trued up at year end. Quadient says it will use reasonable efforts to warn you near the limit. Get the per-invoice list price written into the Order Form.
Corpay needs a US fund source paying in USD, Cambridge EFT needs a Canadian fund source paying CAD, and Positive Pay works only with SmartPayables checks from a US account (help center, April 2026). Cambridge wires cannot pay in currencies such as BRL, INR, JPY and MXN. The ERP-integrated payment flow covers QuickBooks Online and Desktop, Sage Intacct, Sage 100, 300 and 50 US; Xero, GP and others must create payments in the ERP first.
On termination, Quadient will on written request grant read-only access for up to 90 days to export your data at no charge, or delete it (September 2026 terms). A copy of invoice images is an additional service at an extra fee. The trust center says AP customer data is deleted 90 days after termination. Plan the export before the notice date.
Desktop ERPs need the SmartSync tool and its auto-updater installed on the server that hosts the ERP. The September 2026 terms bill troubleshooting of connectivity, permissions or security issues and special installs at Quadient's then-current hourly rates, and re-implementation after an ERP change as professional services at then-current rates. Get those rates and a scoped setup in the Order Form.
Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.
Inside the product, SmartCapture uses OCR to code header fields such as vendor, invoice number, dates, PO number and totals by default; line-item capture needs a Customer Success Manager to switch it on. Smart Code fills line coding from the last approved invoice for that vendor, per user, and Auto-Submit sends fully captured non-PO invoices straight to approval. Quadient says SmartCapture is being moved to a faster coding engine (help center, May 2026) and claims 99 percent capture accuracy on its AP page; neither figure is independently confirmed. The cash dashboard launched 10 June 2026 adds an AI assistant that answers questions about payables, receivables and working capital in natural language.
Exists: no. On 27 September 2026 the official MCP registry returned no server for Quadient or Beanworks, GitHub search found no Quadient or Beanworks MCP repository, developer.quadient.com and developer.beanworks.com have no DNS record, and quadient.com/mcp redirects to the home page. The only Quadient connector on GitHub is a MuleSoft extension for Quadient Evolve, the customer communications product. api.beanworks.com answers with 403, consistent with a private API used by the mobile app, which the help center says syncs through Quadient AP's secure API.
Scope: nothing to scope. No public API reference, sandbox or token model exists for invoices, approvals, vendors or payments. Integrations are built and operated by Quadient itself, through API links for cloud ERPs, the SmartSync installer for desktop ERPs, and custom integrations sold as a service.
Turnkey: not applicable. For agent work today, the reachable surfaces are the ERP, where Quadient AP posts approved bills and payment data, and the CSV reports the app exports.
Who wins for whom: Multi-entity groups that want approval channels by amount, org unit, entity and GL account with separate creator, approver and payment roles: Quadient AP. Small US teams that want the W-9 Agent on every plan and 1099 e-filing to the IRS and 50 states: BILL. Teams whose auditors ask for a SOC 1 report alongside line-level 2 and 3-way matching: Stampli.
Approval channels and field-level audit log. Quadient AP routes invoices through approval channels keyed to amount, org unit, entity and GL lists, separates creator, approver, exporter and payment roles, flags duplicates on vendor plus invoice number, and logs old and new values per field.
Where it loses: No 1099 or W-9 feature and no SOC 1 report are documented, and on QuickBooks Online, Xero and Intacct, POs have to be created in Quadient AP.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 70; Quadient AP use cases.
Watch: 2025 May GP Demo Day - Quadient - AP Automation for Dynamics GP Users 13:33 · Official demo · The ISV Society on YouTube (Quadient presenter)
Approvals, W-9 Agent, 1099 e-file. Every BILL plan gets approval workflows and the W-9 Agent, the audit trail is time-stamped and cannot be altered, 1099s e-file to the IRS and 50 states, and SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audits run annually.
Where it loses: Dual control is Enterprise only, ERP PO sync with 2 and 3-way matching sits on the quote-only Enterprise plan, and none of the pages reviewed mention e-invoicing mandates outside the US.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 80; BILL pricing tiers.
Watch: Accounts Payable and Bill Pay using Bill - Is it better than QBO!? 22:55 · Independent walkthrough · Financial Tech Lab by Clara CFO Group on YouTube
Line-level matching, logged approvals. Stampli matches invoices to POs and receipts 2 and 3-way at line level, logs every approval, message and field change with before and after values, and holds SOC 1, 2 and 3 plus PCI DSS.
Where it loses: 1099 filing stays in the ERP and Stampli publishes no e-invoicing support such as PEPPOL, so teams with EU entities or heavy 1099 volume need another tool for those steps.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 82; Stampli comparison row and watch-outs.
Watch: Set your team free from line-level PO matching 3:34 · Official demo · Stampli on YouTube (official)
Who wins for whom: Groups paying US and Canadian vendors, including CAD EFT and cross-border wires, from one approval queue: Quadient AP. Small US teams that want each domestic per-payment fee posted before signing: BILL. Teams that want virtual card cashback of up to 1 percent on vendor payments: Stampli.
Five partner rails, one queue. Approved payments release to REPAY or Corpay for ACH, check and card, Cambridge for CAD EFT and cross-border wires, SmartPayables for Positive Pay checks and Comdata for Canadian cards, from one approval queue.
Where it loses: No per-payment fee or card rebate is published, eligibility depends on a US or Canadian fund source, and the ERP-integrated payment flow covers only six ERPs.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 60; Quadient AP watch-outs.
Watch: QB Demo Day - Quadient 14:20 · Official demo · The ISV Society on YouTube (Quadient presenter)
Posted per-payment fee table. BILL publishes ACH at $0.59, check at $1.99, free virtual card, card-funded payments at 2.9 percent and instant payments at 1 percent, runs processing in-house with Positive Pay on checks, and pays vendors in 130+ countries.
Where it loses: The FX margin on free local-currency wires is not disclosed, no payer rebate on virtual card payments is published, and API payments need an SMS-verified session.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 88; BILL watch-outs.
Watch: How to Automate Domestic AP Payments with BILL V3 API 14:24 · Official demo · BILL on YouTube (official)
Direct Pay from your own account. Direct Pay sends ACH, check, virtual card and international payments to 100+ countries with target FX rates from the customer's own account, behind a separate payment approval, and virtual cards earn up to 1 percent cashback.
Where it loses: Direct Pay fees sit in an order form with no published FX markup, Stampli can raise them on 14 days notice, and international wires take 4 to 5 business days.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 72; Stampli pricing tiers and watch-outs.
Watch: Stampli's AP Automation 2:50 · Official demo · Stampli on YouTube (official)
Quadient's H1 2026 results put Digital ARR at 264 million euros, up 12.9 percent on an annualized organic basis, and say e-invoicing is embedded in its AP automation.
Quadient announced Leader status in the QKS Group SPARK Matrix for AP Automation 2026, citing multi-entity support and ERP integrations including NetSuite, Sage, Dynamics GP, QuickBooks, Acumatica and Xero.
The Specific Terms valid from 1 September 2026 add optional e-invoicing for Germany (ZUGFeRD and Peppol) next to Belgium (Peppol via Sovos) and France, where Quadient acts as an accredited platform.
Quadient said its AP automation solution was recognized in The Forrester Wave: Accounts Payable Invoice Automation Software, Q2 2026, its first inclusion; the release does not state a placement.
The July 2026 release notes add invoice image export to Sage 50 UK and Job Cost coding fields for Sage 100 on invoices and purchase orders.
The June 2026 release notes add an Acumatica integration, which requires Quadient Hub, and let users email fully approved POs to vendors from the app.
There is no public price. The plans page lists Purchase orders, Invoices and Expenses plans with Request Pricing, and Capterra lists every plan as a custom quote (checked 27 September 2026). The quote is built from a setup fee, a platform fee, a monthly invoice tier, modules, the number of legal entities and optional features, per Quadient's September 2026 terms.
Public benchmarks are thin. Vendr's Quadient median of $19,950 a year comes from 24 purchases by 5 unique buyers, is not broken out by product and holds no AP-only data (its only priced Quadient SKU is AR Automation), and Vendr's narrative figure of $25,000 to $75,000 a year for 10,000 to 50,000 invoices shows no sample (checked 27 September 2026). Get a written quote at your real monthly invoice count, with the overage list price, and budget separately for payment fees.
Quadient's general terms (December 2025) renew automatically in 12-month terms unless notice is given at least 90 days before the end. Fees are non-cancellable and non-refundable, Quadient may raise fees annually after year 1, and first-term discounts are ignored when the renewal increase is computed.
On exit, Quadient will, on written request made within 90 days of termination, give read-only access so you can export your data at no charge; a copy of invoice images costs extra (September 2026 terms). The trust center says AP customer data is deleted 90 days after termination, and a general statement covering all Quadient digital products says customers can download their data, for example as JSON or CSV. Uptime is projected at 99.5 percent a month, and you may terminate if it misses that 3 or more months in a row.
Quadient publishes no typical timeline. The AP page claims under 6 hours to automate AP, which is vendor-claimed and likely measures the software connection alone. The setup fee covers technical integration, workflow design and training meetings, led by a Customer Success Manager.
Cloud ERPs such as QuickBooks Online and Xero connect by API in a single admin session. Intacct and NetSuite need Quadient to create an API sync profile, desktop ERPs need SmartSync installed on the server, and Acumatica and SAP Business One require Quadient Hub. Payments add partner onboarding, such as REPAY's 3 to 5 business day application review.
Not directly. There is no public API, developer portal or MCP server, first-party or community, as of 27 September 2026. The help center says the mobile app syncs through Quadient AP's secure API, but no public documentation for that API or route for customers to use it was found.
An agent can work around the edges: read the bills and payments Quadient AP syncs into your ERP through the ERP's own API, and analyze CSV reports exported from the app. Inside the product, the cash dashboard launched in June 2026 has its own AI assistant for questions about payables and working capital.
Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.