Vic.ai is AI-first accounts payable software that captures, codes, matches and routes invoices, then pays vendors through VicPay, built for US mid-market and enterprise finance teams on Oracle, Microsoft, Sage and Workday ERPs, including PE-backed companies and accounting firms.
Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.
The API models organizations that hold many companies, runs separate US and Norway regions, and allows 500 requests per 10 seconds per client (docs.vic.ai, checked 26 September 2026). Named customers include Ancestry and EquipmentShare (press release, 24 March 2026). The first thing that strains is cross-currency payments: a G2 reviewer (February 2026) reports each payment batch is limited to one currency.
Vic.ai states it holds SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II reports, shared under NDA, and offers audit-logged multi-step approvals by amount, vendor, GL account or department (trust center and FAQ, checked 26 September 2026). The PO matching page lists 2, 3 and 4 way matching with tolerance settings, and duplicate and anomaly flags are built in. It loses points because 1099 support shows only as vendor tracking flags in the API, with no documented 1099 filing, and while the API accepts PEPPOL BIS Billing 3 and X12 810 invoice files, no e-invoicing mandate coverage is published (docs.vic.ai, checked 26 September 2026).
Vic.ai's integration pages list Oracle Fusion, NetSuite, E-Business Suite and JD Edwards, Dynamics 365, GP and Business Central, and Sage Intacct, 300 and X3, with bi-directional master data sync (checked 26 September 2026). The API syncs accounts, dimensions with dependencies, vendors, VAT codes, POs and payment terms. QuickBooks Online and Xero appear nowhere on the pages read, which pushes small-ledger buyers to custom API work.
In product, Vic.ai runs per-customer coding models, Autopilot for invoices above a confidence threshold, and VicInbox, the only VicAgent marked live; the contracts and analytics agents are in beta (VicAgents page, checked 26 September 2026). Outcome figures such as 85 percent no-touch are vendor-claimed. Externally there is no first-party MCP server; the public REST API with 181 operations is the agent surface, and its credentials are issued by a Vic.ai representative.
Vic.ai says onboarding takes two to six weeks, including about two weeks of historical data training (vendor blog, November 2022), and suggests 100 invoices per vendor as a training baseline (vendor blog, May 2023). The FAQ says finance teams lead implementations with Vic.ai onboarding specialists. Integration pages cover Oracle, Microsoft, Sage, Workday, Coupa and Viewpoint Vista, with only Oracle and Microsoft called out of the box (checked 26 September 2026), but no public sandbox is documented.
Support runs through support@vic.ai, with Intercom chat mentioned in a 2022 vendor post, and a 4-hour target for critical incidents (trust center and contact page, checked 26 September 2026). The 2021 subscription agreement says customers whose plan does not include support pay a fee to access it. Review evidence is thin: 27 ratings averaging 4.6 of 5 on the AWS Marketplace review page, mostly syndicated from G2, and one August 2025 reviewer says support responses take extra time.
VicPay pays by ACH, check and virtual card with no U.S. transaction fees, and vendors verify bank details through Plaid (payments and vendor portal pages, checked 26 September 2026). Since 6 August 2026 the rails run on Increase with funds held at Core Bank, and customers must complete a new banking application and open a new account. International payments appear on the payments page but not in the Increase release, and the VicCard issuer and rebate terms are not published.
vic.ai has no pricing page; /pricing redirects to a demo form (checked 26 September 2026). Vic.ai's own AWS Marketplace listing does publish a $25,000 12-month AP Module contract with a $2 per-invoice overage, and VicPay advertises no U.S. transaction fees. Vendr's $9,720 median rests on only 5 purchases, and analytics tiers and support plans carry no public prices.
Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.
You are buying invoice coding AI first. Vic.ai trains a model on your own past invoices and GL coding, then lets confident invoices skip data entry and go straight to approval. Approvals, 2 to 4 way PO matching, VicPay and an AP inbox agent sit around that core. It fits a controller with thousands of invoices a month on Oracle, Microsoft Dynamics, Sage or Workday who wants fewer people keying and coding.
The headline numbers come from the best deployments. The homepage claims 85 percent no-touch by month 6; the vendor's own accounting firm case study reports 38 percent no-touch and 17 percent on full Autopilot. Payments changed rails on 6 August 2026: VicPay now runs on Increase and Core Bank, and customers must open a new bank account in their own name. There is no first-party MCP server, and API credentials come from a Vic.ai representative.
Get the contracted annual invoice volume and the per-invoice overage rate in the order form; the AWS Marketplace listing charges $2 per invoice over commitment. Ask for a no-touch target based on a sample of your own invoices, not the marketing figure. Confirm which rails and currencies VicPay supports after the Increase move, whether support is included, and the 60-day non-renewal notice window.
Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.
Vic.ai learns GL, location and department coding from your past invoices instead of vendor templates. Diesel Direct, a fuel distributor on Microsoft Great Plains, reports 99 percent coding accuracy and 84 percent no-touch in the vendor's case study. Those are vendor-claimed figures from a strong deployment.
The PO matching page lists 2, 3 and 4 way matching across POs, receipts, inspection reports and delivery notes, with tolerance settings and mismatch approval flows. The vendor says it can match even when the PO number is missing. Since September 2026 one invoice line can match several PO lines, per the API changelog.
A Southeast accounting firm processing 12,000 invoices a year reports 86 percent accuracy, 38 percent no-touch and 17 percent on full Autopilot in Vic.ai's case study. It says staff processed more than twice as many invoices as in Bill.com in the same time. Expect a ramp, not day-one autonomy.
VicInbox sorts incoming vendor email by intent, routes invoices into processing and drafts replies with invoice status from ERP data. It is the only VicAgent marked live; the contracts and analytics agents are in beta (checked 26 September 2026).
Approved invoices move into VicPay for ACH, check or virtual card payment, with early payment discount detection and a vendor portal with Plaid bank verification. Since 6 August 2026 Increase and Core Bank run the rails, and customers open a new account in their own name.
Vic.ai's March 2026 release names Ancestry, EquipmentShare, Diesel Direct and Vivo Infusion as PE-backed customers. It claims 85 percent or higher no-touch at enterprise scale and a close 1 to 2 days faster. Both figures are vendor-claimed; ask for references in your industry.
Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.
Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.
AI invoice processing and approvals for a contracted annual invoice volume. The listing does not state the volume.
Charged for each invoice processed beyond the contracted annual commitment, per the AWS listing.
Priced by Vic.ai sales for invoice processing, PO matching, approvals, VicPay and add-ons.
ACH, check and virtual card payments within the U.S. carry no transaction fees, per the payments page.
Standard, Advanced and Premium analytics are listed in the FAQ, which does not say which tier the base subscription includes or what an upgrade costs (checked 26 September 2026).
The subscription agreement says customers whose plan does not include support pay a fee to access it.
Vic.ai announced on 6 August 2026 that Increase technology and Core Bank now power VicPay. Customers complete an updated banking application and open a business account in their own name at Core Bank before payments continue in Vic.ai. Build treasury paperwork, signer approvals and any bank-policy review into the rollout. Source: vic.ai news release, read 26 September 2026.
The VicPay page still lists check, ACH, virtual card and international payments. The 6 August 2026 Increase release says VicPay currently supports ACH, check and virtual card through the integration and does not mention cross-border payments or FX. A February 2026 G2 reviewer also reports each payment batch is limited to one currency. Get supported countries, currencies and any FX markup in writing (pages read 26 September 2026).
The homepage claims an 85 percent no-touch rate by month 6, and the August 2026 release cites rates above 80 percent at its highest-performing enterprise deployments. Vic.ai's own case study of a 12,000-invoice-a-year accounting firm reports 86 percent accuracy, 38 percent no-touch and 17 percent on full Autopilot. Ask for a target based on a sample of your own invoices and tie a remedy to it. All figures are vendor-claimed (read 26 September 2026).
The subscription agreement on vic.ai (effective 26 August 2021) renews automatically for another term of the same length unless either party gives 60 days' written notice before the term ends. Fees are non-refundable and late balances accrue 1.5 percent a month. Support is included only if your plan includes it; otherwise it carries a fee. Diary the notice date at signing (read 26 September 2026).
Vic.ai's integration pages list Oracle, Microsoft Dynamics, Sage, Workday, Coupa and Viewpoint Vista, and none of the pages read on 26 September 2026 mention QuickBooks Online or Xero. A smaller company on those ledgers would depend on the open API or a partner build. Confirm the connector, sync frequency and dimension mapping for your exact ERP edition before signing.
No Vic.ai MCP server appears in its docs, its GitHub organization or the official MCP registry (checked 26 September 2026). The REST API is broad, 181 operations in v10.97.1, but client credentials are issued by a Vic.ai representative on request. Budget developer time to wrap the API if you want Claude or another agent to read AP data.
Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.
In product, Vic.ai uses a global model for header fields such as invoice number and due date, and a per-customer model for GL, location and department coding that is not shared across clients (trust center, checked 26 September 2026). Invoices above a confidence threshold can skip review. The vendor claims 97 to 99 percent accuracy and 85 percent no-touch by month 6; its own accounting firm case study shows 38 percent no-touch and 17 percent on full Autopilot, where Autopilot means every field predicted at 95 percent confidence or higher.
VicAgents are the agent layer inside the app. VicInbox, which sorts vendor email, routes invoices and drafts replies from ERP data, is marked live. The contracts agent and the analytics agent, which answers plain-English questions over AP data, are marked beta (VicAgents page, checked 26 September 2026).
Exists: no first-party MCP server appears in Vic.ai's docs, its GitHub organization or the official MCP registry (checked 26 September 2026), and API Evangelist, a third party, found none in July 2026. Scope: the public REST API at docs.vic.ai (v10.97.1, 181 operations) reads and writes invoices, vendors, dimensions, POs, approval flows and payment confirmations, with webhooks. Turnkey: no; OAuth client credentials are issued by a Vic.ai representative, so any MCP would be a custom wrapper.
Who wins for whom: PO-heavy teams matching invoices against receipts and delivery notes 4 way: Vic.ai. Teams whose auditors want every field change logged with before and after values: Stampli. Multi-location operators that want duplicate and price-creep flags on each invoice: Ottimate.
4-way matching, audit-logged approvals. Vic.ai matches invoices 2, 3 and 4 way against POs, receipts and delivery notes with tolerance settings, routes audit-logged multi-step approvals by amount, vendor, GL account or department, and says it holds SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II reports.
Where it loses: 1099 support is only a vendor tracking flag with no documented filing, and no e-invoicing mandate coverage is published even though the API accepts PEPPOL BIS Billing 3 files.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 78; Vic.ai comparison row and use cases.
Watch: Vic.ai Invoice Processing | AI-Powered AP Automation 0:51 · Official demo · Vicdotai on YouTube (official)
Line-level matching, logged approvals. Stampli matches invoices to POs and receipts 2 and 3-way at line level, logs every approval, message and field change with before and after values, and holds SOC 1, 2 and 3 plus PCI DSS.
Where it loses: 1099 filing stays in the ERP and Stampli publishes no e-invoicing support such as PEPPOL, so teams with EU entities or heavy 1099 volume need another tool for those steps.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 82; Stampli comparison row and watch-outs.
Watch: Set your team free from line-level PO matching 3:34 · Official demo · Stampli on YouTube (official)
Price variance and Trust Score. Ottimate routes approvals by vendor, amount and location, runs 2 and 3 way PO matching with line-level price variance checks, and tags each invoice with a Trust Score that flags duplicates and first-time vendors.
Where it loses: No SOC 1 claim and no 1099 or W-9 workflow turned up in its helpdesk, and 3-way matching only works once receipts sync into Ottimate.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 73; Ottimate use cases.
Watch: How Does AI-Powered Purchase Order Matching Work? | 2-Way & 3-Way PO Matching Explained 18:47 · Official demo · Ottimate on YouTube (official)
Who wins for whom: US teams that want ACH, check and card payments with no U.S. transaction fees: Vic.ai. Teams paying suppliers in 100+ countries with target FX rates: Stampli. US operators moving vendors to free standard ACH and cashback vCards: Ottimate.
VicPay with no U.S. fees. Approved invoices move into VicPay for ACH, check or virtual card payment with no U.S. transaction fees, early payment discount detection and Plaid bank verification in the vendor portal, running on Increase and Core Bank since August 2026.
Where it loses: Customers must open a new Core Bank account in their own name before payments continue, and the August 2026 release does not mention cross-border payments or FX.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 64; Vic.ai watch-outs.
Watch: VicPay by Vic.ai | AI-Automated Vendor Payments 0:46 · Official demo · Vicdotai on YouTube (official)
Direct Pay from your own account. Direct Pay sends ACH, check, virtual card and international payments to 100+ countries with target FX rates from the customer's own account, behind a separate payment approval, and virtual cards earn up to 1 percent cashback.
Where it loses: Direct Pay fees sit in an order form with no published FX markup, Stampli can raise them on 14 days notice, and international wires take 4 to 5 business days.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 72; Stampli pricing tiers and watch-outs.
Watch: Stampli's AP Automation 2:50 · Official demo · Stampli on YouTube (official)
Free vCards and standard ACH. VendorPay issues vCards and standard ACH at no cost, Priority ACH at $0.50, Fast ACH at $5 and checks from $1.74, with vCard cashback at the proposal rate and Positive Pay files.
Where it loses: Vendor enrollment picks the rail and the API cannot request one, vCards take 2 to 3 business days to generate, and cross-border payments stop at Canada.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 74; Ottimate fee schedule and watch-outs.
Watch: VendorPay by Ottimate: Automate Vendor Payments, Eliminate Fraud Risk 0:39 · Official demo · Ottimate on YouTube (official)
Organization-level API credentials can now list and look up companies, read an individual invoice, confirm or reject its posting result and manage company webhook subscriptions. Direct payment and purchase order operations stay unavailable to them.
The API changelog says an invoice line can now be matched to several purchase order lines, each with its own matched quantity and amount.
VicPay runs ACH, check and virtual card payments on Increase's platform, with funds in customer-owned accounts at Core Bank. Customers open a new account to continue.
A release names Ancestry, EquipmentShare, Diesel Direct and Vivo Infusion as PE-backed customers and claims 85 percent or higher no-touch rates at enterprise scale.
The Q2 2025 release added a self-service Vendor Portal with Plaid verification, VicPay 2.0 and VicInbox as the first live agent, with contract and analytics agents in beta.
Vic.ai does not publish prices on its own site. The only public list price is its AWS Marketplace listing: $25,000 for a 12-month AP Module contract plus $2.00 per invoice beyond the contracted annual volume (checked 26 September 2026). The listing does not state how many invoices the base covers.
Vendr reports a $9,720 median annual contract, with a range of $4,535 to $70,532, from only 5 purchases. At the AWS overage rate, every 1,000 invoices a month above your commitment adds $24,000 a year (Audit Friendly arithmetic). Ask for the included invoice volume, the overage rate, and the price of analytics, support and VicPay in one quote.
The subscription agreement posted on vic.ai (effective 26 August 2021) sets a one-year initial term that renews automatically for the same length unless either side gives 60 days' written notice. Fees are non-refundable, invoices are due in 30 days, and late balances accrue 1.5 percent a month. Your order form can override these terms, so read it first.
On data, Vic.ai's trust center says customers may request export or deletion at any time through support, and data is kept for the contract term and as needed for legal and audit purposes. The API also lets you list invoices, download invoice documents and generate CSV reports (beta). Put the export format and timeline in the contract.
Vic.ai says onboarding takes two to six weeks: a kickoff call, about two weeks of historical data training, user training and a final test before go-live (vendor blog, November 2022). The FAQ says most implementations are led by the finance team with Vic.ai onboarding specialists and little IT involvement.
Plan for the data work. The model trains on past invoices matched to their GL coding, and the vendor suggests 100 invoices per vendor as a baseline. Complex ERPs, many entities and a VicPay rollout, which since August 2026 requires opening a new Core Bank account, will stretch the timeline.
Not through a turnkey connector. No first-party Vic.ai MCP server appears in its docs, its GitHub organization or the official MCP registry (checked 26 September 2026). Inside the product, VicInbox is a live agent for AP email, and the contracts and analytics agents are in beta.
The route for Claude is the public REST API at docs.vic.ai: 181 operations covering invoices, vendors, dimensions, purchase orders, approval flows, payment confirmations and webhooks. Credentials are OAuth client IDs issued by a Vic.ai representative, so a developer would wrap the API in a custom MCP server and limit it to reads or approved writes.
Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.